So many are experiencing heatwaves, again, now in this time, sharing a story.

in #story2 years ago

image.png

Round about 2002 or 03, while living in CA, and soon after the culmination of a breakup, I was living alone with my dogs (and my horses out back in the field) in a country house, built in 1935, and there was a really intense heat wave. Temps were in the triple digits every day for a few weeks, with temps sometimes still being 90 at 11PM, and lucky if it got down to 70 as the low overnight.

There was a magnolia tree in front of my house, and it had bloomed before and was beautiful. But this summer, the leaves never evolved, and a dove had made her nest and hatched her eggs in this tree in the Spring. I remember feeling pretty desolate myself, going through breakup and endings and all, and sitting in my kitchen and watching those poor babies out my kitchen window (with my one AC in my window making my life at least tolerable), with their beaks wide open, in that tree with no protection from that intense sun and heat, and I actually would find myself in tears, watching their suffering. It broke my heart.

But, amazingly, they survived, the heat wave subsided eventually, Momma taught them how to fly and they disappeared from my life. I had that dead tree taken down before another season, and used it for fire kindling.

And life goes on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56792.41
ETH 2444.34
BNB 487.19
SBD 2.39