You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Cost of Living

in #story6 years ago

That's a tricky one: I've spent my life around artists. Some financially successful, some not. I put myself mostly in the latter group but then again, I have always found a way to finance my lifestyle, but that's mostly focused on needs, not wants.
The difference that I observe is entitlement. Until you feel that you, too have a place in the sun, it doesn't happen. I've spent years battling with that although battling with partners over that isn't my cup of tea and I've always flown solo, financially. Seen too many women crush their own dreams or have them crushed for them in relationships. The alternative is harder and it does require a healthy dose of selfishness to pull off. But I gave up pleasing others in my 20s and I'm not sorry about that

Sort:  

Hmmm...entitlement has always been framed as a dirty word in my world. But that’s probably largely due in part to being raised by an uber entitled mother...and in part by the societal message that women sacrifice. Even being raised by a woman who was financially solvent and aoeared to be socially liberated didn’t counteract that second one.

Entitlement is a very loaded word but I have come to realise one thing: the meek do not inherit the earth. I believe that one can be entitled and still leave arrogance out of it

The sacrificial messages come from every angle

You may just be my hero.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64294.64
ETH 3491.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53