How I met a homeless person in Budapest

in #story6 years ago

Today I will tell you how I happened to get acquainted with the Hungarian homeless and chat with him in Russian 😉

It was a sunny Sabbath day, and Yulka and I, armed with cameras, moved from the island Obudai to the city. On weekends, tourists can walk along the closed Szechenyi Bridge for motor traffic. The bridge is closed, and on the platform at its entrance the food fair unfolds. On it you can taste delicious Hungarian cuisine, cooked here.

Meat in the heat I did not want to eat, therefore, bypassing the sausages and meat stew, I stopped near the large draperies, which appetizingly grumbled in huge pans. The boy turned over the croissants, and I stood and sweated, waiting for the turn to come.

By the way, then that potatoes potatoes, we learned only when they tried them. And before that, for some reason it seemed to us that they were cheesy. But on the price lists, we could understand only the figures, for the Hungarian language is unreadable for the uninitiated.

Hungarians are strange comrades. Knowing that in Budapest is full of tourists from all over the world, they do not seek to translate their absolutely unreadable words into English. So, for example, self-serving in the Hungarian Ashan, we could not find a button with tomatoes on the electronic scales. We were looking for something similar to the word tomato-tomat-pomidore - and I sincerely believed that the word tomato is international. But the Hungarian tomato - paradicsom - helped us to figure it out the kid with whom we got to talking in English.

So, when my cheese potato pancake was fried, it was smeared with a brush of garlic water, and then sour cream. Julia bought herself a meat stew - not less tasty in appearance. We landed near the partitions of the bridge and happily began to absorb food. Immediately sat the chewing people and from the company to the company walked shaggy bum. Nobody wanted to share food with him and when he came up to our improvised table, I handed him half of my dranyk, and Julia gave a plate with her dinner. He did not expect such generosity and thanked us for a long time in Hungarian. By the way, the "kyzon" - "thank you" - is the only word I learned in Hungary, because all the others do not lend themselves to my memory. 😀 Feeling, the bum rushed to us and wanted to kiss our hands, but we retired in time and ran to look for baths for Yulia.

I do not know how to swim, I do not like reservoirs, and even swimming pools, even Hungarian, I preferred a walk along the Danube embankment. Julia lingered and I returned to the Szechenyi Bridge, where I met the same bum again, chewing on my or someone else's potato cake. He smiled at me with a toothless mouth and waved his hand like an old acquaintance. I walked through the market, bought a baked on a round-shaped scallop tubule and sat straight on the asphalt in the square. Imagine my surprise when someone landed near me, I turned my head and saw our bum with a bunch of plastic bags. I broke the tube in half and handed it to Janos, so he introduced himself, biting off the tube with a single tooth. I said that my name was Anya, I came here from Russia and also bit a pipe ... And then Janosh in broken Russian issued "The Ax to beat the head" and laughed .. I asked how he knows it and he explained that at one time at school he studied Russian and even provoked the verb Know - "He knows", "She knows", "She knows". 😀 I said that It can not know, because it's a middle-class, but I think that I was not particularly understood. Janos took out a 5-forint coin from his pocket, rubbed it on his greasy trousers, and handed it to me, saying that the bird on the coin would bring me luck. 🙂 The heron is depicted on the five-forth coin - for those who do not know. I got the Russian ruble out of my wallet and gave him a piece of Russia + 100 forints, because, I think, our ruble has not rested against him.

I said goodbye to Janos and ran along the streets further, take pictures of Budapest and meet Yulka, washed in the bathing facilities.

I do not know where Janos is now, whether he is alive at all ... But I still keep the five-finger book, for I believe that he, and really, is happy 😉

From any trip, even the most interesting, I'm drawn home - in a clean, bright and cozy apartment.

Sort:  

There is beauty in all kinds of people.

Hi, welcome to Steemit. If you want to learn something about Steemit, you can follow me.

Interesting snippet of life.
I actually lived in Hungary for a few years, working for a multi-national.
Also, I've visited Hungary through my life, having relatives there.

My visits go back quite a while. In the 1980's there was no such thing as homelessnes. It just wasn't in the lexicon. In recent times, it's just saddening to see the people who fell through the cracks in the transition to a free market economy.

Joe
@joe.nobel
science fiction, fantasy, erotica
check out the some posts, no obligation to upvote, but wouldn't mind if you do

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57616.20
ETH 3030.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25