BULLIED IN ISTANBUL(part 1)

in #story6 years ago (edited)

BULLIED IN ISTANBUL(part 1)

I have not taken a shorter flight, neither have I experienced a more boring but memorable stopover in such an exceptional country.
I had been nervous right from my entrance into the plane. The thirst as a result of the refusal of the airport officials to allow me smuggle my bottle of Fanta into the aircraft had made me sad. Little did I know the mode of entry would be so different.
Yeah it wasn’t like Cairo but it wasn’t winter, although I was still wearing my jacket so as to minimize the weight of my baggage. If there was something I could change in the take-off procedures, it would be the repetition of seemingly basic instructions by the captain, even in different languages. Why would they play us boring kindergarten safety videos, knowing fully well it wasn’t our first flight? I mockingly loosened my safety belt, reached for the rack above and pulled up my laptop. I was getting impatient. In my mind, I was asking’’ Why can’t this thing just move up and start to fly?’’.FB_IMG_1522897645255.jpgFB_IMG_1522898094449.jpg
But it seemed the middle aged Russian lady sitting beside me had been dying to practise her English once out of Moscow. She carefully waited for the instructions in English and smiled, doing exactly as she was told. This almost irked me. I brought out my earphones and plugged them into the device behind the seat in front of me. Wow, this is luxury. Not to forget, I snapped a picture and waited for the pretty Turkish air hostess to bring me cognac. We were on our way to Istanbul.
I am not afraid of heights but I definitely do not like the feeling of the airplane going up as if it was landing. My heart would leap and then for the first time, I would appreciate the captain’s voice. ‘’LADIES AND GENTLEMEN, WE ARE ON OUR WAY TO ISTANBUL’’ until the Arabic version would start.
Some people have always longed to fly, but trust me, nothing is as boring as staying up there, covered by those pregnant clouds riding stately on the back of the wind like dark sinister wings. Well, it got better though, when the pilot would probably doze off and the plane would come down a little for me to have a sweet glance of the sea bodies beneath. image
I was getting impatient, the mixture of coca cola and cognac was taking its toll on me already. I complicated it by choosing beef over meat. It was devastating. I swiped the home screen and then, movies. I was impressed at that folder for having such a sophisticated genre. Thinking for five minutes, I selected a thriller.
Oh my God, my stomach would trumpet!Honestly, the movie strove to satisfy me and see how it was worth it paying an extra charge of 100 dollars, but I still felt a repositioning would do. I looked back, noticed not so many people booked the flight, the flight attendants gisting in bedroom voices, became pleased a bit. ‘’I must make it look like I am flying business class’’, I said to myself.

Sort:  

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @wafrica. Follow @wafrica to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99