Showing my black RX7 FD some love...

in #story7 years ago

Black Sheep

My silver RX7 FD3S is forever in the limelight, with extravagant photoshoots, modifications and road testing but what about my black RX7 FD? It's hardly around! Well that's because I'm still renovating my house and parking is still a little bit of an issue, also I don't really like my casual workers seeing so many cars here at one time.

IMG_0192.JPG

I generally only keep the MR2 and the silver RX7 when I have workers over. This time was a little different, I swapped the MR2 for the black RX7.

The Plan

The plan was to move the HKS Super Power Flow Intakes and Blitz Dumpvalve from the black FD to the silver one and restore the black FD to factory condition. This however changed a little earlier in the week when I decided I need to be mostly available to guide my workers throughout the day.

I had one worker cut down an entire Acacia Gerrardii Red Thorne Tree by hand using a large 75cm bow saw, this tree unfortunately needed to go as I'm building parking bay at the top of my driveway for guests (That's what I tell people, it's actually for more cars, lol)

Anyway, back to the cars, due to time constraints I decided it was time to do another oil change and for the first time flush, clean and replace my radiator coolant.

I started by removing the oil sump plug and washer, loosened the oil cap to allow the oil to flow easier and began to remove intake piping as this was in the way from beating out the oil filter.

IMG_0181.JPG

IMG_0182.JPG

Remember I said beating out the oil filter, well that's exactly what I had to do! I took a screwdriver and a hammer to it, pushed the screwdriver right through and was able to turn the old oil filter enough to remove it by hand.

IMG_0183.JPG

I let the car sit for a couple of hours, until the majority of the oil was out and the dripping from the oil pan had come to a complete halt. I then fitted the new oil filter and filled up the engine with some multi grade mineral oil (Synthetic oil is known to cause issues with the apex seals)

IMG_0188.JPG

Once the oil was in, I checked the dip stick a couple of times and topped up. The black FD takes slightly more oil than the silver one as it has a second oil cooler on it. I filled it up with 4.1 liters of oil in total. I put together all the removed intake parts and closed up with the little car time I made available.

What's next?

Right, so I urgently need to move the HKS intakes across to the silver car. I also need to fit the downpipe and exhaust. It won't happen tomorrow so perhaps during the week over two evenings or so. I'm really excited to get them in and see the performance gains!

Thanks everyone for reading, have a great weekend!

IMG_0189.JPG

Discord Link

If you have any interest in cars, consider following. I am a Japanese Car Collector and Appreciator, sharing my life through this Steemit Page.

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Sort:  

My friend use mineral oil for his Savannah too, he says its better to the apex seal too compare to fully or semi.

Good on him, I believe the synt oil makes the apex seals brittle and then obviously they leak, :)

Both look sleek as hell to me!

Heh, thanks buddy :)

You got a 3.19% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @nelkeljdm!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Nice cars n writing very good @nelkeljdm

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by NelkelJDM from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Where's the cylinder head and valve cover in those photos??

crazy.jpg

nice your story. Please upvote and follow me.@mdyousuf

No sorry but you can enjoy a flag for spamming me and the 50 other people you commented on in the last 20 minutes.

Dude got downvoted so hard it registered on the Richter scale

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56775.06
ETH 2345.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36