She started out life like this...

in #story7 years ago

This is a story of hope for any one wanting to start working on a project car.

I picked up a pretty sad looking, stripped Subaru Impreza GT Turbo at a good price and decided to fix it up in other words turn it into a money pit.

IMG_0235.JPG

First thing's first, I needed an engine. Lucky for me the car came with the stock bottom end which I had fully forged with ARP Headbolts, CP Pistons and rods, BC cams and a whole host of other internals that I don't remember (This was roughly 7 years ago)

IMG_2394.JPG

I picked up a Garrett stock location GT2860RS Turbo-Charger and a set of decapped STI injectors, these were flow tested at around 1000cc

IMG_0274.JPG

A new drivetrain from a 2003 STI Non DCCD model, new headers, rear brembo brakes and EBC discs and a full 3" exhaust (Downpipe wasn't in the picture)

17042011(007).jpg

25012011(002).jpg

25012011.jpg

Came out looking so pretty!

29191_425696016154_584776154_547193.jpg

Then I got fed up by the old, torn standard looking interior. I started stripping and stripping and stripping!

Dash1.jpg

Bought myself the entire interior from a 2007 STI and began with the Frankenstein swap! I had to splice and wire around 30-40 cables to get the cluster pack to work on my older model.

IMG_0792-Copy.jpg

IMG_0795-Copy.jpg

*Installed an HKS Electronic Boost Controller and a set of new DEFI Gauges *

Dash2.jpg

IMG_0933.jpg

IMG_0932 (1).jpg

And this was the finished project. A 1999 Impreza GT Turbo completely transformed into a fire breathing machine.

27042011(002).jpg

26052011.jpg

18042011(006).jpg

18042011(003).jpg

If you have any interest in cars, consider following. I am a Japanese Car Collector and Appreciator, sharing my life through this Steemit Page.

FOLLOW ME HERE!

Sort:  

Max upvote for that damn sax!

I love those old Scoobies, shame you don't still have it. Did you save all those photos from when you did the work?

I wish I kept it, when I was younger I just wanted the next best thing, kept building and selling off. I've got quite a few photos of most of my builds. I'll share a few others on here at some stage :)

Wow amazing work. Nice ride!

seeing pics of the car built is awesome but the truth lies in the build pictures :) wish i had more build pics of my rides through the years. if you got any more post them up

Not a boxer fan, but the distinctive unequal length exhaust sound does really well with any blow off valve sneezes. Archooo!!!

I used to be an avid fan of these cars, had 9 of them! Then I saw the light and went full on JDM and bought the GT-R, now I can't have anything other than rare JDM machines he he he.. But you are right though ARCHOOOOO!!!

Wow, that must have been a huge project. Great thing you got her back on the road.

It took me a little over 1 year from start to finish, I'd never be able to take on a project like this these days. Too much on the go for me right now

woop woop thats looking like some serious yummyness :D❤️ Im not a fan of wings^^ but other then that, il bet she will be a blast on the road :D
I like your well put construction :D ~ lets roll~

Thanks so much!!! She was fun to drive, sold her a few months after I finished building. I'm still scratching my head as to why?! Oh well, I'm having fun with other toys now he he... Thanks for the comment!

Aw noo problem <hade a hard time not , to break throw the screen and carnap her ;)
Yes the Q is-whYyyy?? O.o Hm toys? more???:D :D ❤️❤️ woohoo will go see if you posted :D

Oh heh yeah, I have a Skyline GT-R, 2 x Mazda RX7 FD's and a T Top Toyota MR2 SW20.. Hope to get a few more rare JDM cars in the near future but that's what I refer to as my toys! Loads of fun :)

sweet a Skyline GT-R :D should Go like lighting with out beeing seen..^^
hm new turbo and juciepump, ecu.. Hm should get you to -+500ish Hk he he :D :P
Aww soo sorry me is lost on DA toyota :( :(
Il be moooore then happy to hm test em for ya ;) :D ya know saftyyyy.. checks and so on <la aa LA

Haha it is pretty quick but still humble. Like you said, bigger turbo, ECU and supporting mods. Right now it's around 440hp on stock twin turbos and a whole lot of other mods. What's wrong with the Toyota? :( You are welcome to come to sunny South Africa and drive them all haha

Hm hmm 'pretty' is a looose statement ;) LOL
me like how that sounds ;) woopw woop that turbo 💖💖
Hm ok PLEASE noo offence meant, ok? I find toyota's just costing cash but kind of not deliver ;) Im from sweden, yeah you kind of figured that :P LOL i havent ever been in a toyota who havent feelt cheap and noicy... :( sooo im a bit judgmental :P BUUUT im always open to switch minds :D Il come and look at i think, 3 videos you have? In a few hours :D

Watch that 47 second video to see them :)

woohoo yes please ? LOL well done :D :D

wowwww... brilliant work... I have no words for this dear.... really awesome work... turning an old car into a turbo powered one...

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @nelkeljdm to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Wow! It was in the worst condition. Did you use refurbished parts or used? You really turned it around. It looks crazy awesome.

It could have been worse, missing glass or body panels and an accident lol. I wish I kept the car, so silly!

Yap, That is good though. Oh! so you do not have it with you anymore.

Nope sold it a little while ago, bought an R32 GT-R, 2 x RX7 FD3s and an MR2 SW20 :)

Have a look at this... you can see my current cars

Awesome! you really do love sports cars! Amazing collection.

Thanks buddy!! I need a few more in my life, looks at Mitsubishi GTO VR4 Twin Turbo, Toyota Supra Mk4 and one day hopefully get my Unicorn Honda NSX

You are most welcome. You will get them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59933.20
ETH 3191.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44