You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Sure As Hell Hope Some of Their Wisdom Wears Off On Us.

in #story5 years ago

I too find myself wondering about intelligent life within our galaxy. I like your thought about the wisdom of distance, that hadn't occurred to me. Sometimes in my wonderings I've feared that another civilization that finds its way to earth might not be coming in peace but after considering your point about distance, I realize how unlikely it is that a civilization would go to all the trouble of going this far to conquer! Puts my mind at rest actually, lol so I can feel more excitement, less fear.

Sort:  

I'm so glad it put you more at ease! Most sci-fi books/movies tell the story from a fearful place because people are more drawn to that negative bias. I feel like civilizations that have the kind of tech to travel those vast distances probably have solved most of their "big problems" and probably wouldn't even need natural resources. Hopefully one day we'll meet them and find out. : )

i think you're right on both counts - fear based stories do seem to have a draw (although not for me, I generally avoid the stuff!) and I like to think that those aliens are just as curious as we are if not more. Who knows, maybe they might even want to be helpful and offer ways to save our civilization from killing itself!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.56
ETH 2523.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36