How we lost magic internet money! 500 bitcoin...

in #story7 years ago

The year was 2009 and my brother just convinced me to buy bitcoin, i thought why the heck not, it could be worth something one day in the future. He told me to store them safe and forget about them. Which i did, i forgot about them. (I did find them eventually, keep reading)

I was told to store it in a wallet, and write down the keys and hide them. Which I did.
And as the 2012, 2013 and 2014 went by I was confronted by him in November/December in 2014 screaming to my face that bitcoin was up to a 1000$ And asked me where if i still had my 500 bitcoins, which i actually bought for 5$ or something I really don't remember. He asked me if i still had them and i said «of course I do». And then he asked me where I had hid my key, and I told him. The only problem we encountered was that there was no key where I left it.

As you probably can imagine this ends in my room being flipped upside down, it literally looked like there had been a raid by the Russian police. (not that i know anything about the Russian police, i just try to paint a dramatic picture)

We go trough every drawer, sock, boxer short, magazine, cabinets and even my curtains where thoroughly checked.

When all of a sudden It got me that i had written the keys down on a piece of paper which i put in a box in the garage.

As we rush to the garage in the middle of the night making one hell of a noise and starting to tare apart the garage. (This was really not necessary of course, but I had a pulse of 270)
So we started to throw stuff out in the yard as we continue our search. What this ends in is that our neighbor lady calls the police because she is so damn sure we are breaking into our own garage. (if she only knew...)

So as our search continues the police suddenly arrives out of nowhere and start yelling that we need to show ourselves, we were completely wild and crazy. So the police thought we were on drugs. It probably didn't help that my brother yelled to the police that we were looking for 500k $ worth magic internet money in an excited yet scared voice!
But we managed to prove that we were living and that everything were fine, so they wished us good luck and left. After they drove away we continued our search for the box with the magical internet money. After an hour or so we found the box.... with the note that had the keys! YAY! We are riiich broootha...

So we rushed down to the basement again and sat down at the computer installed a wallet and punched in the keys. Oh my god, this is probably the most anti-climax ending in the entire world.
But as I entered the key there was no bitcoins there. It was empty.... WOOF, gone.

That feeling was indescribable. There are no words to describe that. It's like being handed 500k and after 5 minutes they are just taken away from you. I know there are many people that can relate to this, and we were not the first for this to happen to. But i really felt we had it there for a moment!

So that was our story of how we didn't get rich on magical internet money. Hope you enjoyed it, to this day we are at least able to laugh at it! So cheer up, the journey is still young. (we say to ourselves at least)

opengraph.png

Sort:  

Damn that's sad

So, how was the account hacked if the keys were offline, any idea?

I have no idea. The only thing i can come up with is that the key must have been on my computer as well. This was not a big deal since it only was 5 dollar at the time. I wish I knew where they are

That sucks. I keep my keys on paper wallets, but I am not tech savvy and it may well be that you somehow leave the keys on your computer. I hope you and your brother are still good after the incident. Keep well.

Congratulations @naskono! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 54953.89
ETH 2913.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.03