You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Journal] A Monster Wants To Be A Girl // Healing From PTSD

in #story7 years ago

Your description of the writing state, and it's link to the steps toward a sense of peace/happiness struck me:

It starts with seeing. And in the middle is work. And the seeing, and the context, and the work, never really ends. Not if you want to be great.

So it is the same with being happy. With taking care of things that you love. And if it’s important enough to you, you’ll do it.

The PTSD you speak of is one I can relate to. And it's physical ramification. Exploring writing flowed naturally for me (not the skill, just the desire) from wanting to explore/heal that state.

I think that is why your writing has appealed to me. I find a stark but grounded sense of beauty in it.

Sort:  

I remember something Philip K. Dick said once about how if a tenor is stabbed, his natural reaction is to sing, and a writer will write. We all have different propensities for how we deal with the way life happens to us and how we process it. Sometimes without even really understanding what we're doing (Trying to heal and understand) until years later.

I think writing is such a great healing tool - it doesn't really solve anything on its own but gives context to our lives and what's important to us. And with reading too - bridges the gaps of loneliness that is consciousness. I'm glad that you found something here that spoke to you.

The words of Philip K dick have given context to a lot of the various strands of my life. I think I am still computing a lot of them. He was well ahead of his time. I think I need to go read VALIS again. Thanks for the reminder.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 68913.35
ETH 2517.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53