The Story Of The Moneylender and The Fly

in #story6 years ago

IMG_20180527_114600.jpg

Long ago, in a village in Vietnam, there lived a greedy moneylender. Over the years, he had amassed a great fortune by lending money at high rates. Even though he lived a life of luxury, he was not satisfied and constantly craved more.
One morning, the moneylender decided to visit a poor peasant family who owed him money. The family was hardworking and honest but despite their best efforts, hadn’t been able to make enough money to pay off their debt. The moneylender was adamant that this time, he would get his money back or seize some belongings. However, no one was home except for a small boy in the garden.
“Child. Are your parents in?” the moneylender said.
“No, sir,” the boy kept playing.
“Well, where can I find them?” the moneylender asked angrily.
Unfazed, the boy did not answer. When the moneylender repeated his question, the boy looked up thoughtfully. “Sir, my father has gone to cut living trees and plant dead ones and my mother is at the market selling the wind and buying the moon.”
“What on earth do you mean?” The moneylender yelled, clutching his bamboo walking stick. “Tell me where they are, or I will use my stick!”
The boy still would not budge.
Finally, the moneylender leaned in. “Alright, you little brat. I have come to collect the money your parents owe. But if you tell me where they are and what they are doing, I’ll forget all about their debt!”
The boy was interested but cautious. “Oh sir, how can I believe you? You must be teasing.”
“I promise, with heaven and earth as my witness,” the moneylender pointed up and down.
“Heaven and earth cannot talk! No, only a living thing can be our witness.” The boy insisted.
Just then, the moneylender spotted a fly on a nearby bamboo pole. “Fine. Let the fly be our witness,” the moneylender suggested gleefully.
“I accept the fly as our witness.” the boy agreed.
“My father is out cutting bamboo, which he will use to build a fence for the man living by the river. And my mother…oh sir, will you really keep your promise?”
“I swear on the fly.” The moneylender promised.
“My mother is at the market selling her handmade fans to buy oil for the lamps. Is that not selling the wind and buying the moon?”
“Aah!” the moneylender realized, admitting the boy was indeed clever. Of course, he was naïve if he thought a fly could be a witness. The moneylender waved goodbye and left.
A few days later, the moneylender came back in the evening to ensure the boy’s parents would be home. He demanded his money while the poor peasants begged for more time. The shouting woke up the boy, who rushed to his father and said “Father, you don’t have to pay this man. He promised to forget all about the debt!”
“What rubbish! He’s lying. I have never spoken to this boy! Now, are you going to pay or not?” the moneylender yelled.
The parents did not know what to do. Their son had never lied before.
Finally, they went to the village’s Judge. The Judge smiled and asked the boy to share what had happened. The boy did. “How do I know you are telling the truth? Was there a witness?” the Judge asked.
“Yes, Your Honour.” the boy answered.
“Who was the witness, child?”
“A fly, Your Honour.” The boy said.
“A fly?” the Judge asked, confused.
“Yes, Your Honour. A fly which was sitting on the gentleman’s nose!” the boy said.
“You little brat! You’re lying! The fly was not on my nose, it was on the bamboo pole…” the moneylender shouted before he could stop himself.
The Judge burst out laughing. The boy’s parents also joined in nervously. Soon, the boy and the moneylender were laughing too! Smiling, the Judge gave his ruling, “Sir, your conversation did indeed happen and you must keep your word to the boy!”

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67776.21
ETH 3737.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72