PayPal Part 2 | Don’t trust anybody.

in #story6 years ago

Some of you might have read my #ulog article about PayPal where I explained that I sold two Kindles to a guy in Australia and that PayPal took AU$6 of the money that the guy sent to me. Later on, it was on hold and I couldn’t get the money.

Here: https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@mvd/here-is-why-bitcoin-is-better-than-paypal-or-my-personal-experience

I wrote this article about 20days ago and a lot of things have changed.
Now, I know a lot more about how PayPal works and that you never should trust anybody.

Back in the first article, I had sent the Kindles on Friday and he received it 10 days later where he lives and we could follow it because of the tracking number.

First, I need to tell you how I sent it to him so that you’ll understand his story…
I cleaned the Kindles and Covers + took pictures of them to put it on Gumtree. I then went to the post office to buy a box and some bubble wrap to make sure that they were safely packed. Each of the Kindles had the cover on and the screen was on stand bye since I don’t know if you can switch them off completely. I then wrapped them in the bubble wrap, put them into the box and gave them to the woman behind the counter.

This is how the Kindles looked like before I sent them to this guy.
Kindle.png

Ten days later, the guy sent me a text message to let me know that he received the package but unfortunately one of the Kindles was damaged on the screen but the other one was fine.

I told him that this couldn’t be possible because I checked everything and packed it safely to make sure that nothing could happen. I then asked him if he could send me a picture to show me what had happened. He sent me the picture and it looked very strange and the other one was fine.

Well, I told him that this must have happened during the shipping because before I packed it, everything was fine.

Have fun reading this because these text messages made me mad!
text message.png

He then replied that it couldn’t have happened during the way because the parcel was fine, like no damaged and nobody had opened it. This sentence sounded so strange to me!

I started to get a weird feeling that something was wrong with the situation so I checked the pictures again. I asked him if he could send me a video where he’s showing me with him trying to rub it off because I thought that it isn’t real. He sent me a video in poor quality where he held the kindle in a strange angle and ‘’rubbing’’ it off but it didn’t disappear.

I can't put the video in here, so, I took screenshots of it, his camera was really bad, you couldn't even tell what he was doing.
video.png

I then thought to myself, "Well, he has the Kindles and one is damaged. What should I do now?" I asked him if he had a suggestion because he wasn’t happy.

So, he told me that I could take the damaged one or both and resell them again if I wanted too.

I said that I wanted to get both back because I couldn’t believe that this just had happened and I was so angry because I knew he would try to get me!

Then he said, that I should refund him the money first before he sends them to me! How could I send him the money back? The money was on hold so I didn't have the money.

This went too far! I asked him to open a dispute and I contacted PayPal and I also realized that he had sent the money from ‘’buyer to seller’’ instead of ‘’friends and families’’ and this was the reason that I couldn’t get the money because he needed to confirm that the items arrived undamaged. If he would have clicked on that they were damaged, he could have gotten the money and I would have been left with nothing.

I talked to PayPal and told them the story of what had happened and the guy on the phone was really nice and he handled the situation correctly as if he already knew that it was a rip off.

Screen Shot 2018-09-06 at 6.53.00 am.png

He told me that the buyer had 8 days to give PayPal the tracking number of the items and if he didn't give a tracking number, I would receive the money.

The eight days has passed, no tracking number showed up and I have the money.

This tells me that I was right and handled the situation correctly which gave me justice and makes me kind of proud that I didn’t fall into his trap because I know that it isn’t difficult to fall for something like that, depending on the situation.

Now, if he does this to every item that he sees on Gumtree or if this was his first try, 8 out of ten will fall into his trap and can’t get their money back.

For the next time, I know that I will only except crypto or bank transfers to save some time.

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77