Sankofa Contest - The Height That Great Men Reached and Kept Were Not Attained By Sudden Flight...

in #story7 years ago


Yoruba Proverb - Iwọn ti awọn ọkunrin nla ti de ọdọ ti wọn si pa wọn ko ni atẹgun ofurufu, ṣugbọn wọn lakoko ti awọn ẹlẹgbẹ wọn ba sùn ni o nṣiṣẹ lati ṣiṣẹ ni oke ni alẹ.

Meaning - The height that great men reached and kept were not attained by sudden flight, but they while their companions slept were busy toiling upwards in the night.

I do hope you are not expecting a regular story of how a man got lazy while the other toiled all night and shockingly the guy that toiled all night attained his dreams. If you are, you'll be disappointed. @mofesmusings decided to twist it up a bit using a childhood vision.

Please enjoy....

The story is one of a beautiful village girl called... Kurumuseke


The Evening Village

It was late, a calm breeze blew over the village. Although not too bright but the moonlight shone. Sweet sounds of leaves kissing, hugging or mating alongside crickets chirpings serenaded the beautiful evening. Not that Kurumuseke noticed any of this. She had planned to make it home sooner but Mama Amoke just had to happen to be passing by and needed help with her farm products, Lord! knows the story the whole village would have heard by morning if Kuru merely passed by. Kuru's heart was racing faster than anything. Although getting dark, she could see the roof of the house from the distance and knew Mama was waiting..... Oh! she was happy, joyous and excited!!! Only if she could disappear and appear in Mama's arm. The remaining distance home, although now short seemed further than ever. The distance seemed to increase as she got closer. Why didn't God give her wings to fly? Lol... but that didn't matter, she was thankful. She had such great news for Mama. One they had hoped for even before her birth, after Papa's death and there it was!!! Now, Kuru was jumping and running at the same time. Everyone that tried to greet her or stop her now won't succeed (Amoke's mother had done enough), all the time she had left in this day was all for Mama.



Home At Last!!!

Mama! Mama!! Mama!!! I am home!


Running inside the house eagerly and praying her shouting hadn't given Mama a heartache while also hoping Mama doesn't decide to be angry she arrived late, "I'll rather patiently wait to see you the next day, than you travelling late and something bad happening to you!!!" Mama would always shout. Kuru enters Mama's room, drops her bag on the ground with a thud and Mama doesn't flinch. That's wierd!, Mama has always been a light sleeper (asides from their poverty, that's the only other reason they've never been robbed - everyone knew). Kuru moves closer and pats Mama and that's when it hit her.... no, no, no but no! Amoke's mother just spoke of her a while ago, this is not an information she'll fail to say. Mama! Mama! Nooooo!!!!!! You cannot be de....ad!




The Toil...

With uncontrollable tears, Kuru broke the news to Mama's lifeless body. This wasn't how I thought it'll end. I thought I was the child that would lift you out of poverty and today I actually believed I had finally achieved it but what's my joy if you are gone, Mama. I have toiled all night, all through my life to ensure my background did not determine my future and you were my pillar, my ray of hope, my reason and now I have nothing.

You always said "The height that great men reached and kept were not attained by sudden flight, but they while their companions slept were busy toiling upwards in the night" and Mama, I kept your words to heart and hided it, it got really though but I was determined to make you proud. I finally attaining the great height after much toiling but you are not here. How could you and Papa decided to leave me in this horrible world alone? I will be eternally grateful for your words though, without which I'll definitely have attained nothing. Mama, I just really wish you were here!!! (more tears). I planned to take you to the city, life there I hear is more luxurious and its where I have been called to. You were to live out the rest of your years enjoying your labours fruit but you are gone!!!

Sort:  

That was touching. Amazing entry. Thank you :)

I’m glad you thought so. Thank you plenty.

This was something else,nicely written and touching

Dante is here, No Fear

🙃😁Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62182.25
ETH 2437.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61