If i can do it, anyone can!

in #story6 years ago (edited)

I live a great life! Im not bragging by any means, I am actually rejoicing! I love my life! Its an odd thing to say, probably as odd as it is to hear. People don't celebrate life like they use to. I think that is kinda sad and would love to see that change.

My life has not always been this good, infact it was filled with all kinds of negative sh*t. I dont want to bore u with my sob story but i want you to hear a few things so you realize everyone goes through rough times and anyone can rise above their trials to be great!

Hard knock school of life

I hung around with the wrong crowd in highschool which landed me in court and handcuffs quite often to say the least. After a defered sentence on a felony at age 20 i had the choice to go to prison or to the military (cuz 911 just happened and they needed soldiers) so i chose the army. I ended up going to war two different times, both in a combat unit where I lost 9 friends and 4 more to suicide since we came home. We got blown up, shot at, and every terrible thing u could imagine including lots of death. I deal with ptsd and other ailments that serve as a daily reminder of my time in iraq.

addiction

After the military i became an addict, like many other veterans do. Of what u ask? Pretty much name it. Alcohol and opioids were my choice but anything worked. During that period of addiction i also earned myself another felony for cultivation and I lost a gf of 7 years to an overdose. After all of that i ended up broke and had to move back in with my parents at age 31 to restart my life. My life was less than desirable to say the least.

I finally realized that i was my own worse enemy and started to change my life for the better, i sobered up and got a job. I bought my own house then remodeled it. Life was alright, but it just wasn't me. Eventually i got tired of the rat race and ended up back at the bar doing and selling drugs once again.

Humans (myself included) are terrible creatures of habit, it is so easy to fall back into the life that you once knew so well. The easy life, filled with drugs, alcohol and no responsibility at all.

Eventually i was fed up with that scene too, i lived in a small town at that time and the fun died fast there. I knew i needed a change but didnt know what. I felt lost and empty and my ptsd was out of control and i just couldnt imagine continuing to exist in this manner for the rest of my life.

i needed a change

I didn't know what but I knew the life i had been living up until this point was definitely not the one I wanted. So i changed everything I had control over, from the minute i woke up until the minute i went to bed. Control was the only thing I had in my life so I utilized it.

healthy lifestyle

Up until this point I ate mostly meat and fast food. NO vegetables! seriously. I decided no more fast food ever again and only organic food from then on. Your body is a temple, if u want to feel great you have to feed your body healthy food. You wouldnt believe how amazing you feel when u stop putting garbage food in your body! Yes vegetables suck, but feeling like a super hero is worth eating broccoli and other greens more often.

you just want to do more

After you start eating healthy you will have so much more energy, you will feel like you have to do something, I started walking daily! Shortly there after it was two walks a day because I felt so damn good.
Next i started working out, not because i had to, because for the first time in my life I wanted to take care of my body and it just seemed like the right thing to do so i did it on auto pilot. My mind knew excercise would make it perform better. I started small 15mins every other day, just some calestedics now its up to an hour 5 -6 times a week, cuz i feel off my game with out it now.

dreams and goals

After my body was feeling good i was finally ready to work on my life. I listened to many motivational speeches and realized i had complete control of my life. So i took responsibility of my life and decided no more excuses. I took ownership of my life and decided what my dreams were. I made goals, daily goals, weekly goals monthly goals and yearly goals. I worked towards those goals every day and now, after so much work, my life is absolutely amazing!

We are about to embark on a year long journey of traveling the world! We just booked our first 90 days out of this ocuntry on vacation and i have never been so excited about anything in my life!

So just remember, if ur life sucks you are the only one who can change it. It won't be easy and it prolly won't be quick, but I promise you that it is absolutely possible if you want it bad enough. Listen, if a felon, drug addict, alcoholic disabled veteran with extremely bad ptsd and teribble depression can do it, than anyone can!

So stop with all the weak ass excuses and just make the decision to improve your life a little each day. Start those improvements today and before you know it you will be living your dream life! ;)

you don't have to be great to start, but you have to be start to be great!

"Peace, love and all that hippie shit"

Sort:  

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 41.32% Upvote

Your post was resteem by Whale ResteemService @booster007

Keep it up!
All the best!

First Follow for 3 hours | Send a minimum transaction 0.100 steem/SBD with post URL in memo | Your post gets resteemed | A post can only be resteemed once!

voted 0.049 + resteemed
hey, hi, I will post this great post in my blog under your name
thank you

thank you my friend. :)

This was seriously awesome. I want you to get a whale vote. 9 cents from me!

aww thank you! :) you made my night so I upvoted you my full whale vote too ;) 7 cents lol.. we will make it there one day.

haha yes! We will! :). Thanks :). I'm a singer-songwriter and have some new videos up in case you're interested (no pressure just thought you might want to listen). Have a good night!

yeah absolutely, i like your vibe so ill check out your page. :) if you are up for another post from me I wrote maybe my best one yet this morning.. no worries either way.
following you

I will definitely check it out and your page!!

I am totally new to this community. Have been on Facebook and I am on many different groups there - Abraham Hick being one of them. It always sounds so easy if you hear people talk about how to improve your life. But reality is very different. It is hard work and consistency that will get you through. My congratulations on what you have achieved. I will follow you because I want to know about your travels in the next year.

First off welcome to steemit friend! :) this is an awesome supportive community unlike other social media around. There is so much support it is amazing!
Thank you for your comment and i really appreciate the follow :) i definitley understand life can be extremely hard sometimes, i have had my fair shair of down times if u read some of my other posts, it explains the trials and tribulations i have been thru in life. Everyone has bad days and a difficult life, but it is all about how we choose to see it. :) stay consistantly positive and that will literally change ur life.
We start our travels march 1st to costa rica but i will have many more articles leading up to that :) take care and have a great day!

Great post! I could identify with what you went through. I am a sober alcoholic so I understand the addiction part. Here in South Africa we went through a brutal bush war which to this day has an impact on many of us. Thanks for sharing. Upvoted and resteemed.

Glad you made it through that safely. War is such a terrible thing. Addiction only helps us to cover that stuff up, but it never really helps in the end so I am glad you found sobriety. Hopefully you have also found some peace in your heart, as I know it took me a long time to get there :)
Im happy you found my story and can relate to some of it, I hope you follow along for the rest of this crazy journey I'm on.
thanks for the comment and resteem, it is so very appreciated! :) following you

My greatings to you @moderndayhippie, Your post has been resteemed my friend , Honestly your words go straight to my heart, but first of all I wanted to congratulate you for all what you have done to have the life you wished . I admire your personality and your great self-confidence .

I imagine all the sacrifices you've made to keep hope that everything can change to better.. yes cuz if we work hard, we'll get what we want.

from my part I wish you all the happiness in your life, I hope sincerely and amicably that you will always take the good way, continue like that .

Thank you once again @educ.leb for not only the resteem but the continued support you always offer, I truly appreciate it. Not many services take the time to read the articles they resteem much less leave a thoughtful comment. I enjoy your service but more so value your support as a friend here on steemit. :)
Thank you for the wishes and I hope you are doing everything in your power to live your dreams as well.
And don't be scared to dream big, because life will give whatever you ask of it my friend!

Awesome post, man. I had several friends commit suicide while in the AF. It's rough to deal with and I'm so glad you were able to take that control and start living that good life. God Bless and thank you for all you did for our country.

thanks for the comment. Sorry to hear about your friends in the AF, that kind of stuff always breaks my heart. I am incredibly lucky I broke out of my terrible trends. however, I do believe I needed to learn lessons from those hard times in order to grow so I see the importance of it. I hope you enjoy my story enough to follow along on the rest of it. ;) Take care

Yes, always lessons to be learned in life. I'll be following along for sure :)

I’m so excited for your journey and I’m glad you were able to pull yourself out of the depths. It’s 99% perception, Man... with your new outlook, you will live a beautiful life. Glad I found you on here! I’m an Army wife and fellow hippie ✌🏽💜🌏 I’m gonna follow so I can keep up with your journey 😊

Awesome! Thank you so much for the support! Im following you back because u give off good vibes and i always appreciate a military family. :)

I kinda went through this not too long again where I knew I had to make a change in my life to be better and I kinda made it. I started a youtube channel as something to do that wasn't just wasting time and I now have a small following. It was easy at first but then got really hard to keep up with it. I powered through it though, well at least for now I have.

Its always great when you change your life for the better and it works out. The hardest part is usually right before a break through so I'm glad you pushed through and made it to the level you are at. But don't get to comfortable, always keep pushing towards greatness. You'll have time to rest when you make it to the top! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94