Alco Stories #10: Drunk, the sales manager

in #story8 years ago

"“having nothing to struggle against they have nothing to struggle for.” " -Charles Bukowski

Something different.

Welcome to a office job

Office job is something new to me, having 3 meetings a week was a weird concept to me. Attending 3 meetings a week and being obsessed with charts of never-endless numbers and finances. I went from a sales hustler to a office rat real quick and had thought that this is what I dream off. Meeting important people, making deals with government for very large contracts. Flexible schedule, mobile working possibility. Great salary.

But I was wrong. This thing ate the soul out of me and I started hating the office. My anger issues started to re-appear and to calm myself down I started drinking again. First at weekends, then maybe every now and then. Then every night. Then every day. But my boss or rest of the management really didn't care because we were meeting our norms and the company was doing great, sales wise. In fact we had been so over our goal that my work, or lack of it, was completely irrelevant to the success of the company.
I hated it. I'm an ambitious man by nature and can't tolerate sitting on my ass doing nothing. So I quit.

Burn out

I quit without having a new job, I just felt burned out, I just wanted to drink. And that I surely did. For the whole summer. Until now, recently, I've started running out of money. But the job, while definitely being the best thing that had ever happened to me, made it clear to me that much like in the army, I do not take orders well and I do not fit to work under anybody. Anybody. I have to do my own thing, my own hustle and succeed by myself.

But I needed a time out first, the summer vacation was amazing and I toured around the country my fair bit while I still had money. Managed to do a lot of shit also, for example go on a multi-week drinking spree. At one moment I completely lost sense of time, I literally couldn't differentiate monday from friday, every day was a day to drink.

The routine

I would start when I wake up, when my friends had a job to attend I had bars to attend, started going on dates a lot more, had some weird experiences with Tinder which I might write about later. while I knew that this was financially not the right to do, I just couldn't care about material things at that time, there's more to life and my own sanity was on the line. Had I seen one more office meeting I've might've had possibly committed a murder.

Back to ground zero

Eventually shit hit the fan of course, rent needs to be paid and no food in the fridge, so I finally start hustling at internet marketing, try a few things, run a few affiliate sites, make a few investments with the little money I still had left. But all these projects failed, hard. I was devastated, broke and extremely angry, just hating my self for leaving my job instead to become unemployed. The stress was too much and I started drinking, yet again.

Vicious cycle this summer was.

Sort:  

You are the type that has to make their own way. I salute you. I am not as brave as you are.

Oh man, but if I had stayed at the company I'd be financially so much better off right now. Definitely felt stupid when I ran out of money. But overall, just trying to follow my heart while I'm still young. Each man has their own path.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60777.85
ETH 2609.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65