My Dog "PIKA" and An Horror Story

in #story6 years ago

Hi there, I’m Paige. I’m 28 years old and I come from Vietnam – a gorgeous country in South East Asia. My home country has so many spectacular things to see – Ha Long Bay, Co To Island, Hoi An Ancient Town, and the list can go on for days. Have a chance to visit Vietnam?

Don’t forget these places. I’m going off track now, let’s just get to the point.

You know what? When I am spreading my mind on my second topic on Steemit, the very first image that springs to my mind is my “dear little sister” – Pika. Do you think she is such an adorable human? I love her so much, and she is not here with me. She has been in heaven for 2 years now.

My story today is just about Pika and her bravery when saving my life in a motorbike accident in August 2016.
FB_IMG_1534606548750.jpg
Honestly, writing these words seem to break my heart again. I am very emotional right now because all those bad memories are taking their way back and becoming so vivid in my brain.

Her feeble groaning, her tears rolling down coming in a mix with blood from her snout, those sounds and images are still haunting me today.

Pika is gone with its legs crushed by the motorbike.

Let’s stop a few minutes here, I want to talk about the first days I adopted Pika. She was 3 years old then. She was such a playful dog with full of joy all the time. And I still remember my struggle trying to put everything out of her reach to keep her away from breaking things.

There was even that one time when I bought a fancy prom dress. As soon as I put the dress on, Pika snatched it out of me and gnawed it into pieces.
FB_IMG_1534606631766.jpg
She was stubborn sometimes, but she really knew how to fawn on me. There was another time when she broke the Chanel perfume bottle that my boyfriend bought for me. I was so mad that I threatened her to bring her back to my parents’ home and give up on her. She must have understood what I said, she rushed to me and start licking my fingers as if they are her favorite bones, with lots of love and respect. I pushed her away, yet she kept coming back. I knew it was a sorry from her, I cried and took her head in my arm.
FB_IMG_1534606544598.jpg
We were much closer, and we got to know each other much better since then. Everywhere I go, everything I do, I have Pika by my side. And that’s it, we were with each other for 5 years.

And I thought there would be nothing that could ever bring us apart. Then that Sunday came and God brought her away from me for good.

That noon my husband and I were taking my 6-year-old niece to the movie. When we were out of the cinema, we were so hungry we decided to take a walk to a seafood restaurant nearby to have dinner there.

We were so deep in the talk while we were crossing the road that we didn’t notice Pika and our niece behind. I did hear Pika bark at something but the conversation kept my attention away from her.
FB_IMG_1532780964152.jpg
And just when I heard a big noise of collision coming from behind, I turned around and everything was just too late. I just couldn’t believe my eyes. My niece was lying on the road, the motorbike was a few meters away, and Pika was at the point of death in a nearby corner.

Lucky for my niece, she was fine. People by passing told me that my niece didn’t notice a motorbike coming when she was crossing the street. The bike was too fast she also did not know how to react. Pika rushed to her, pushed her away from the bike and took the collision.
The driver was on alcohol. He couldn’t control his driving speed.

I ran to Pika and attempted to embrace her. But it seems like she was hurt a lot she didn’t want any touch. She just groaned distressingly and laid low on the road. I saw blood starting to coming out from her snout. I couldn’t think of anything. I tried to lay down with her, put my hand under her head so that she can rest a bit. I cried out for help but my attempt didn’t work because there were not many veterinarians in my area.

My husband took his jacket off and tried to put it around Pika. We were about to take her home but it was just too late. Pika stopped breathing and the tears were still rolling from the corner of her eyes.

I hugged her tightly and burst into tears. I resisted on being with her despite my husband’s attempt to take me out of the road and insane traffic. My clothes were soaked with her blood. And I hugged her all along the way back home. We had to hide her well under the jacket otherwise the driver would have been so scared and not allowed us to get in the taxi.

Pika passed away in such a bravery. Never in my life could I ever forget those tears. Days after that I lost my appetite and my weight was reduced by 2 kilograms as I couldn’t eat anything.

We buried Pika under a tree 2 kilometers away from our house. It was a small piece of land in my property, my dad raised chicken and grew a garden there.

Pika loves yogurt. So every its death anniversary, I come with a pack of strawberry yogurt and put them on her grave.

Another year has come and the death anniversary is close by, just about 10 days to go. I had a kid now, she 7 months old and it’s time to let her know about Pika and visit her with me. I will tell her everything about Pika. Now I start to realize the two have many things in common.

My daughter is just as playful as that day’s little puppy. Pika is the last dog I raised. I do not want to have any dog after Pika as I am so afraid of the same thing will happen someday.

If you are a dog lover, you probably understand my feelings in that circumstance.
FB_IMG_1532781106441.jpg
It seems like an old tale, isn’t it? It was a dream haunting me 2 years ago. When I woke up my pillow was soaked my tears, I might have cried all night in the dream.

The day before I had that dream, my grandma told me about Pika – a dog that my departed grandpa used to raise. She told me that Pika was lying next to his coffin, even though many people came and tried to drive her away. Even when the coffin was buried and the funeral ended, she was just lying there stubbornly and didn’t eat anything. Days after that, people didn’t see her there. No one knew where she was going. Maybe she went find her owner, maybe she went somewhere far.

And maybe I was so touched by the story that it haunted me to my dream, making it so painful.
I hope my very first story is favored by you. And is possible, please tell me your story about your dog too. Whether it is a happy or a sad one, I would love to here.

And if you like this writing, please follow my blog for more. Again, thank you so much for spending your time on it.

Sort:  

Seventy percent of people sign their pet’s name on greeting and holiday cards.

Really heart touching story. A cute dog you have.

Congratulations @mmoteam! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05