The Cleaner - Urban Legend Flash Fiction Contest

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Party Mess.jpg

The Cleaner

I heard word of The Cleaner early during my freshman year. The upperclassmen spoke of him as though he was a god. Personally, I didn’t think he existed. There’s no way some guy goes around at the end of a party saving all the wounded soldiers. No chance in hell.

At least that’s what I used to believe. Then late during my sophomore year, it happened. I came face to face with The Cleaner.

It had been an over the top party. Tables flipped, bottles smashed, floor soaked. The place smelled like rotten yeast and vomit. Two hours before there had been 50 people in this living room, now, there was just me falling asleep on the couch while the stoners giggled in the corner.

I have no idea what time it was when I heard the crash. Whatever the commotion was it woke me from my drunken haze. Noises from the kitchen, cans being kicked around, bottles rolling across the table. Who in the hell showed up to a party that was already over?

The clinking of bottles stopped, replaced by the drunken shuffle of a man only mildly connected to reality. The shuffle grew louder as he meandered down the hall towards the living room. I froze, daring not to interrupt.

He turned the corner. I took in all that was the The Cleaner. Backwards flat brimmed hat, polo shirt—collar popped, cargo shorts stained with dip spit, beer, and some sort of red liquid. Blood? Maybe. More likely the jungle juice they had been serving next door.

I watched from the corner of my eye, pretending to sleep. He wobbled over to the coffee table all the while staring at the pile of cans. Slowly, one by one, he picked them up and poured the contents into his mouth. Swill left at the bottom of a can, emptied. Half drank Natural Light, crushed. Quarter full can filled with cigarette butts, devoured. Every wounded soldier he picked up was given the proper sendoff it deserved. There was no man left behind, no matter the state it was in.

I watched him for the next five minutes moving from table to table. Cans, solo cups, bottles, all were fair game to him no matter the contents. After finishing every last drop in the room he spun around and surveyed the scene. He let out an audible burp that seemed to last forever. With a glint in his eye, and a grin of satisfaction on his face, he stumbled out the back door.

I closed my eyes and drifted back to sleep. The most glorious sleep I had had in weeks. I had seen a master at work, and all felt right with the world.


Thanks so much for reading everyone, this was my entry into the Urban Legend Flash Fiction contest hosted by @jrhughes and @horrorguyian. You can see the other entries into the contest here. Hope you all enjoyed!


Don't forget to Upvote, Resteem, and Follow! STEEM ON EVERYONE!!!

Sort:  

This post has been chosen to be featured in today's @muxxybot curation post

Congratulations. You have earned 1 Muxxy Buck.

Oh gosh, it's already burning a hole in my pocket! A whole MUXXYBUCK woooo!!!

Muxxybot recommends not investing in it your future....*....

....&....there is no future for the human race

Hehe, interesting, I love your description of "The Cleaner" in his master-like state.

I couldn't come up with anything that fit the urban legend category...until I gave up on doing something scary. Thanks for checking it out @unprovoked!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mk40 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Ahhhhahahahahaha! OMG I dated that guy in college lol! Seriously, very nice entry, thanks for joining us in time!

Hahaha. See everyone already knows this legend, in their own way ;) I was glad the idea hit me last night...otherwise I might have been out of luck on this contest!

Ha! That was hilarious. Thanks for that one!

Thanks for reading! I didn't want your 'typical' urban legend!

This post has received a sweet gift of Dank Amps in the flavor of 25.00 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @mk40. Vote for Aggroed!

Oh btw I was looking for you on discord, what is your name on there? I needed some advice.

It's the same as on here mk40. Feel free to send me a PM on there.

I can almost taste the vomit and stale, flat beer. :)

Now that is the reaction I was looking for! And my apologies for the taste of vomit and flat beer... :)

Are you sure this wasn't a dream? hahahaha.

This is an awesome story buddy definitely very captivating :)

Hahaha, oddly enough this is based on a person I actually know...the guy was a different type of human, he looked like another friend of ours so we called him the evil twin.

Hahahaha yesss. Love it. It awesome how entertaining real life can be :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60521.50
ETH 3005.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85