The True Story of My Date With A Beautiful Genius Recovering Drug Addict Ex-Lawyer Turned Vegan Chef - Part 6

in #story8 years ago

The last post ended with Anna and I deciding we’d visit a bookstore for a second date.


Part - 5

She called me on her way home from work couple days later and said “hey, do you mind if we go to Whole Foods before the bookstore?”

“Uhm, ok” I responded confused.

“Well, I really need to get to the market badly, but I still want to be able to get together”

I agreed to come pick her up and go to Whole Foods for what was essentially our second date. Yeah, I’m a sucker.

Shopping with her was an interesting experience. Since she was a vegan chef I expected alot of organic and raw ingredients. What I did not expect was that she basically didn't eat solid food. Apparently she was on this super cleanse because she had some health issues awhile back and her digestive system was wrecked.

From what she said doctors kept misdiagnosing her and couldn't figure out what was wrong, but she was sure she had some sort of parasite that she was able to excrete by doing this hardcore vegan juice cleanse.

It had been a year since she last ate a solid piece of food. On our way from the grocery store to the bookstore she nibbled on same Kale chips. I didn't realize it then, but I guess I should have been impressed or maybe even honored by it since it was clearly a big deal for her.

The book store was a bit of an adventure as she basically was all about the New Age section. But it wasn't the mindfulness type stuff. It was more the alternative universe, witchcraft type stuff.

Between her history, lifestyle and interests I still wondered if she was just messing with me.

Anyway, being I was a little freaked out by her story and she the fact she had issues with physical contact (yes, that is beyond ironic) I really had no intentions of making any kind of move regardless of how the date went.

After shopping and perusing some book titles at Barnes & Noble we headed back to her place. I helped her bring in the groceries, met her eccentric gay roommate, gave her a hug goodnight and went on my way.

I reached out to her a couple days later to see if that ACAP meeting was something she was serious about, however I received the following text message.

“Hey, you are really sweet, but I just don’t think we have enough positive energy together and won’t be able to have fun doing the things I enjoy. I wish you the best in your search”

To which I felt this huge sense of relief and simply responded - “Ok, sounds good.”

Whew! Felt like I just dodged a bullet.

I knew further contact was probably not the smartest play for me, but I try to give people a chance. Kind of felt like I got let off the hook. Thank You!

That was the last I ever spoke to her.


Regards,
From the Life and Times of Mitchell J (and the mind behind @scaredycatguide)
Thanks for the pic pixabay

Sort:  

“Hey, you are really sweet, but I just don’t think we have enough positive energy together and won’t be able to have fun doing the things I enjoy.

Yeah, bullet dodged LOL I would run and not walk from people who are that new agey. who wants to wake up from a night of sex with someone dangling crystals over their body.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58493.60
ETH 2468.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41