Fun Story About How I Came To Live in Florida - Part 1 of a 2 part series

in #story8 years ago

Am I really moving? I thought to myself feeling puzzled


I had been working as a financial analyst for a staffing company on Long Island a few years. Sitting in a cubicle in front of a computer till 7pm most days was not exactly the scenario I thought I’d be in when graduating college three years earlier.

My personality and loud mouth definitely was not white collar by any means. Like I’ve said to many a coworker:

“ I have a blue collar personality in a white collar world.”

Luckily, I was blessed to work with a really cool boss and coworkers. Most of the group was really chill and we’d eat lunch down in the cafeteria together, where conversation become somewhat “free game.”

We spoke to our boss Jim like a peer and he’d bust our chops right back. As I said my mouth was definitely not filtered for a white collar environment. I recall sitting at lunch one day and Jim was talking about the show “Welcome back Cotter” to which I looked at him and simply said “You old fuck.”

Realizing what had just come out of my mouth I thought, holy crap, what did I just do….I’ve only been on this job just over a month!

Jim looked at me, smiled and said “Wow, I guess we’re cool like that.”

The rest of the guys laughed and I exhaled wondering if I needed to check my shorts.

A few months later Jim moved on to a higher position in another department. It was a shame as he was a big reason I could tolerate the cubicle grind. The new boss wasn't bad, but the fun factor certainly died down and things became a bit more "professional." This wasn't helping me want to stay.

Anyway, I really just thought I didn’t like the job at my particular company as opposed to the career itself. I had recently transitioned job tasks and was handling the financial reporting system that was used to provide data reports to the higher ups.

One day, when I was just having one of those days where nothing seems to work right my best buddy called me up and said he was going to chiropractic school in FL. Thirsting for a change I said "that's a great idea"

And thus the ball started rolling.


Stayed tuned for part two!


Regards,
From the life and times of Mitchell J (and the mind behind @scaredycatguide)
Thanks for the pic pixabay

Sort:  

Steem_Land Steemland.com tweeted @ 23 Nov 2016 - 02:49 UTC

Fun Story About How I Came To Live in Florida - Part 1 of 2 part series

steemit.com/story/@mitchel… / https://t.co/QTSZyJENFm

@SteemUps @SteemitPosts @steemit @steemiobot

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.35
ETH 2687.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50