My Bestfriend: A Gripping tale of friendship, romance and teenage escapade (05)

in #story7 years ago

wp_ss_20171020_0001.png


Get Started


The story follows the life of four teenagers: Amanda, Natalie, Josh and Valerian.

Amanda would risk her life and happiness for her best-friend Natalie while also protecting Natalie's relationship with Josh.
Valerian on the other hopes Amanda would accept him someday.

Meanwhile something dark threatens the relationship they all share.

loves breaks, it unites.

It sacrifices but betrays.


The Story


"Mand! Mand! Amanda!"

I heard Natalie as she screamed right from the hostel's gate.

I was scared out of my wits but on listening again, I heard that solemn vibration underneath her voice. I could describe it too well. I knew whatever it was that made her screamed that way must call for celebration.

Also, I knew she screamed that way whenever it had to do with Josh.

As I waited for her to get to the room. I sat on the bed, I didn't want to think about Josh nor Valerian. I wanted to think about Natalie.

"Natalie" I called her name tenderly.

She used go be a very feeble and fragile girl.

I thought about the first time we met during our high school days.

As fresh students, everyone felt lonely and awkward on the first day. No one really talked to each other except luckily for those who had known each other and for those who had friends. For those who found themselves in such category, it was just the perfect time to walk around flaunting white socks and shined shoes.

Luckily, the first day of school was usually a good time to get school mothers and fathers. The brave ones would walk past senior classes hoping to get someone's attention while the lucky ones would be approached by seniors even while hiding under the ground.

On the first day of school, some years back, little Natalie sat in a corner, with dreamy eyes. whimpering.

I wasn't sure whether to approach her but I felt she needed a companion.

Out of fear, I made a tight fist as I approached her.
As I got closer to her, I saw her jumped to her feet as if she was chased.

Confused and scared as a result of her sudden action, I took to my heels too.
"I'm sorry, I'm sorry" I screamed as she ran after me.

I was never a fast runner, she caught up with me easily and threw her hands around me like.

"Let us run away"She pleaded. I watched two beautiful beads of tears rolled out of her innocent eyes. Her sad lips parted making sounds I thought were rather funny than teary.

I broke into an hysterical laughter. She felt hurt for few seconds but my laughter was one no one could resist. So, she joined after few seconds and we walked hand in hand to the assembly ground.

She brought out a stick sweet and gave me one just before entering our class.

"We are relocating to our new house today, I will miss my friends" Natalie said towards the end of the day's classes. Then she quickly added that she couldn't wait till the closing hour since they had alot to pack. She was still talking when her mum came to pick her up.

"bye" I greeted, couldn't wait to see her in class the next day.


I got home that day only to find Natalie just behind my house.
"What are you doing here?" I screamed excitedly.

She was too glad to say something, so all she did was jumped happily while pointing to a new house just a stone throw from mine.
I got the gist, we had become neighbours.


I wasn't done with all the memories I wanted to refresh before Natalie popped into the room.

"Mand!" She screamed before running to the bed to drop a few beats on it.
She did that whenever she was extremely happy.

"What, what?" I screamed back happily, making sure my voice was on the same pitch with her level of excitement.

"Josh... Josh..." She panted happily.

"Say it, Nat!" I guessed what it could be already but I just wanted her so say it. Nothing could make her so thrilled except the idea of a swimming pool.

"Josh finally agreed to go to a pool. We are going very soon! Josh and Valerian would be here!" She spilled her words happily and didnt wait for me to give any response.

She ran straight to her wardrobe and brought down all her clothes but didnt seem to find what she was looking for.
Angrily, she started to mutter things that I found really funny.

I wasn't sure what she was looking for exactly but when she didn't find it in her wardrobe, she turned to mine and pulled down all clothes.

She watched me for reaction, since all I did was open my mouth and close them almost the second they got opened, she continued ransacking.

"Okayy... Okay" what are you looking for!"

"I found it!" She screamed and showed the bikini we bought some months back.

Then her phone rang, it was Josh.

"They are outside the gate!" She said happily after dropping the call.

She hugged me immediately.

"I am happy" She whispered into my ear.
"I know, Nat" I replied, trying to force back the joyful tears that had gathered in my eyes. All I ever wanted each moment I breathed was my best friend's happiness. I felt guilty immediately for all the unwanted feelings I had for Josh.

Sliding into a jean mini skirt, tank top and snicker, we bounced out of the hostel.


The drive appeared very slow. Natalie and Josh chatted happily in front. Valerian and I occupied the back seat.

"You don't look well" Valerian said softly.

"I am fine..."
"You are not" He cut in sharply before grabbing my hand roughly.

I didn't want to be held, I tried sliding out my hand but he held me even tighter.
Slowly, he moved his hands up and placed my head on his shoulder. I heaved.

"You know I am always here for you, Amanda"
I nodded slowly in approval.

In valerian's arm I felt protected. Probably there was no reason to be scared about Josh. I knew nothing would ever happen. Josh would also never leave Natalie for me and I would never go to him even for a millisecond.

"Val, just wait for me just a little more" I pleaded in a tiny voice. I could hardly hear myself.

"I will till the end of forever" Valerian assured, squeezing my fingers even tighter.

Then I lifted my eyes to stare at him but he didn't return the stare. Afterwards, I heard a light moan escaped his lips.

We got to the swimming pool but unlike I expected, the swimming pool was quiet and empty.

"Josh had it reserved" Natalie quenched my inquisitiveness before rushing into the inner room.
She dragged me along, pulling my middle finger like she always did.

I don't want to do this, I thought.

I really don't want to. My eyes burned with tears.


"I heard you and Valerian in the car" Natalie said as she wore her swimming wear. I let my eyes settle on her bossom for a while as she spoke.

They have changed, I thought.

"Don't you think you should accept Valerian now?"

She moved closer to me and loosened the bond that held my hair. Then she watched my hair fall warmly on my shoulders.

"Pretty! now go get Valerian's heart with that"
She giggled and dashed out of the bathroom.

I head a loud thud, I knew Natalie had dived into the water.
The image of a fish in a water quickly sprouted in my mind.

Smiling, with the thoughts of a swimming fish, I walked out of the ladies inner room.

Josh appeared like the flash of a lightening from the next inner room..... bare-chested... Wet eyes.... Wet hairs.

"Josh!" I stammered. I suddenly felt electrocuted by a thousand butterflies in my stomach.

I read all his movements: his eyes, the way he glanced over from me then back to Natalie, the way his Adam's apple drifted in confusion, the fist he made, his eyes trying hard to avoid my cleavage.

From the pool, Valerian saw everything while Natalie laughed ignorantly in the water.

It was only when Natalie was about turning around to face the direction where Josh and I stood that Valerian forcefully hugged her in a sudden attempt to prevent her from seeing the awkward scene playing out between Josh and I.

As if in retaliation or confusion or whatever it was, Josh ran towards me and pulled me into his arms, hugging me tightly with all his muscles, flesh and soul. I heard him call out 'Natalie' faintly.

"Oh no!?" He gasped realizing what he had done before pushing me away. I landed with a great thud on the floor.

Everything started spinning around.

I am dizzy, dizzy, I think I will pass out again" I thought, realizing how much wound I was inflicting on myself.

"Amanda" Somebody screamed painfully as I fell.

It was Valerian.
The one that loved me.
The one waiting for me.
The one I have kept in the dark.
The one I truly want.
The one I hope to accept someday.


Image source: Pinterest images


Thanks for reading!


STEEMIT IN NIGERIA- I will be there! What are you waiting for?


@camzy made this adorable toon for me.

IMG-20171006-WA0005.jpg

My Pen Bleeds!

Sort:  

You have received a 35% vote from @bob-elr. Thanks to @spotlight and #euronation.

Hi @bob-elr

Thank you

Friends are nice. Steemit is Nice aswell. Which one is nicer?

Lol. Anyone you choose.

@braxton101

Thank you

Awesome ✌️

Awesome! I refuse to get emotional tonight

Hahahhaha.

This comment cracked my ribs.

Thank you

@danield

You're always welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60600.18
ETH 2606.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62