You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 'Derailed' - Story Chain #3 Where You're the Writer and 100 Whaleshares for the Winner

in #story7 years ago

3

Yeah, images of comic books with the trench-coated private dick smoking his cigarette as he shadowed the guy trying to shadow him, flashed through my mind as I stepped aboard the train. The other guy boarded two cars down. I turned in the direction that would take me away from him, moved down two more cars, and found an empty row facing the back of the train. The direction he would come from if he was after me.

The train ride was inconsequential for twenty minutes, and I promptly forgot the other man once the train was in motion and it became apparent I wasn't about to get shot like some nineties Bruce Willis character. So I sat back, looking out the window, enjoying the view.

The train had begun to slow into the station when I felt the press of steel against my ribs. I turned and the man I had seen board the train was sitting next to me. I had totally missed him once I became distracted.

"Thompson. Listen close" the man hissed at me, pressing the knife harder against my chest in emphasis. "Agree to whatever she asks you to do. Just agree. No matter how outlandish it sounds. Understood?"

I gave a mod of understanding. What else was I supposed to do? The pressure on my chest released and the man was gone. The train pulled into the station and I made quick work of my exit.

As I stepped off the train a chauffeur stood holding a placard reading "Thompson". I stepped up to him and he tipped his cap to me, leading me to a car with the rear door open. I climbed inside before realizing there was someone in the seat opposite me.

The woman was as stunning as her voice had hinted. Long wavy brown hair fell over one shoulder, bangs covering one eye, but the other stood out a stark pale blue. Like the Sky with a smattering of cottony clouds muting the color. The plunging neckline of her sweater hinting at the exquisitely shaped breasts beneath the cloth.

My thoughts were smashed as the woman cleared her throat. "Up Here Mr Thompson." she murmured in that same voice. My eyes snapped up to meet hers. "I suppose you are wondering why you are here?" her voice made it a tease. to which I could do nothing more than nod.

"It's simple really. Mr Thompson, I want you to kill someone."

Sort:  

Thanks @mikepam74 for your entry, a very well written part of the story. The winner has just been anounced along with the new story chain here - https://steemit.com/story/@freedomexists/an-innocent-man-betrayed-by-guilt-story-chain-4-where-you-re-the-writer-and-100-whaleshares-for-the-winner

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68559.31
ETH 2695.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73