The Lonely Tree

in #story6 years ago (edited)

871A7DF2-6D1B-4AF7-ADFE-2699AF7C2DD2.jpeg
The Lonely Tree



Someone has planted me here a long time ago—here, on my own at the top of a distant hill. From where I am standing, I can see a lot of beautiful things; I can see the crown of trees in various shapes, colors and sizes; I can see how the sun rises and sets and I can see how the light of the the morning turns into darkness of the night. My life was prettily much the same everyday. Except those days when I met the most Beautiful Butterfly, Mr. Storm and the Blue Bird.


photo-1500400627082-2cb97f21f0f5.jpg
Prettiest Butterfly



One warm day, I felt a slight tickle on one of my branches, as I take a look I saw a cute but vulnerable caterpillar. She asked me in her small voice if she could stay. Of course I said yes—I've been living all alone—what could I ask for.


As she stayed, she has been a good company. She'll roam around my branches and from time to time she'll tell me her stories while watching the clouds float across the sky. Out of the blue she told me that she was scared of the what the future holds for her. She has no idea what she's going to be or if how long her life would be. It is true uncertainty can cause fear and anxiety. I told her that whatever she becomes I'm sure she'll be pretty and I will always be proud of her. Upon saying that, she promised me that she'll stay with me forever.


And then one day she felt so weak, she told me she'll just rest and meditate. She rolled herself into a pupa. I patiently wait for her to come out, hoping that she'll feel better.
After a few days of waiting she comes out and into my shock she turned into a beautiful, very beautiful butterfly! I can see that she was so happy as she was flapping her wings. But as she turns towards me, I see the expressions on her face changed, and in a low voice she told me that she can't stay anymore. she cannot fulfill her promise to stay forever. " I know it may sound selfish, but with these wings, I need to see the world in full." And then she left.



trees-1646140_960_720.jpg
Mr. Storm


One ordinary day, as I was looking at the horizon, the wind starts to croon softly, the sky darkened and it seems full. My leaves are falling as the wind blew harder and stronger and then he warned me. "Mr. Tree hold on, the angry storm is cooomiiing!" The sky lit up by lightning. And with a big thud of thunder, Mr. Storm storm hits in. As he go towards me I can smell destruction.


I asked Mr. Storm, "What have I done wrong?" but he said nothing. The thunder rumbled—some of my branches are starting to break.
I asked Mr. Storm again, "What have I done wrong?" Again, no answer. The wind rushed and smashed my trunk—my leaves are all falling and scattered everywhere, my roots are starting to shake.
For the last time as I'm facing my doom I asked him, "Mr. Storm what have I done wrong?" He finally answered.



"I envy you from afar. How can you be alone and act like you're happy? Everyone likes you. They adore you. You've given them shelter and food. How can you be happy and loved while everyone hates me? So I told myself I will only be happy if I can destroy you. But look at you now, with all my strength to wreck you, you are still standing. I've broken parts of you but it doesn't make you any weaker. You have withstand my anger and jealousy, Instead of breaking, you took the opportunity to deeper your roots. And now more than ever you are Stronger."


I was caught off-guard with what Mr. Storm said, mainly because I never knew I was appreciated. And when I recovered, I said "Thank You Mr.Storm." After all what else can I say? Mr. Storm brighten up and he smiled. After a few more moments, he is gone and the light slowly comes in. Everything went back to normal. But within my core, I felt stronger.


night-1629980_960_720.jpg
Blue Bird



One night, when everyone was asleep I was surprised when a little Blue Bird rested on me.
The way he looked I know that he is over fatigued. "Mr. Tree, can I rest here? I'm so tired, and I can't fly anymore." I told him that I don't mind him staying even if it takes a while. He can stay as long as he wants. I saw in his eyes that he was elated but sleep overcomes him.



The next morning the Blue Bird woke up with the brightest smile on his face. He was well-rested, so I thought he would leave but he didn't. Instead, he stayed and told me about his adventures, how he lost his parents, how he was able to escape the beast who wants him for dinner and how beautiful and sometimes miserable the places he has been. This goes on for days—him, telling me his stories.


Then one day he told me that he doesn't want to leave anymore. He told me that he would stay if its okay with me. This made me confused. As always I wanted someone who will stay. But I know he doesn't belong here. I saw the longing in his eyes whenever he saw other birds flying freely. I know it wouldn't be right to ask someone to stay just because it makes me happy.


"Mr. Tree would you like me to stay?"


I can't take advantage of his fears and weaknesses. I know this little Blue Bird must leave. the world has so much to offer, there's so much to explore.


So I told him. "I want you to leave towards new horizon and far direction. I want you to learn, to explore and to love. You can always come back with new stories to tell."

He looked at me intently and then nods. I know he understands... and so he left.



Lonely trees are not lonely; they have their eternal companies: Songs of the birds; shadows of the clouds; lights of the Moon; whispers of the winds... Lonely trees are not lonely!—Mehmet Murat Ildan



Have you voted your witness?
Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @acidyo, @jerrybanfield, @blocktrades, @cloh76.witness, @resteemble, @ausbitbank, and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.
To cast your votes, just go to
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


Sort:  

kumusta michelle ! :) that was an awesome story. i luv that blue butterfly! yay!

im following u and upvoted now.

Thank you for your kind words! 🧡

Oh, Mr. Tree! Our sturdy Mr. Tree! Thank you for the sacrifices. You have made wonderful, small beings feel as mighty as you. Even the strongest storm can never put a sturdy tree like you down.

If Mr. Tree is real, It would be you. You have given so much while expecting nothing in return. :) Thank you.

" I want you to learn, to explore and to love. You can always come back with new stories to tell." This is an expression of true and unconditional love; it means to sacrifice :)

It has been proven a lot of times. unconditional love comes with sacrifice.

Life is beautiful indeed ... People come and people go but their memories will remain deeply rooted into our hearts. just like ,"Mr. Tree".

thank you muchísimo!

Muchas gracias!!! love my @steemph.uae family muy tanto!

its soo beautiful! I am speechless. I am so proud of you and congratulations. Xx

That’s very nice of you to say! I felt love because of your kind words. Thank you! 🧡

This is such a beautiful story.
I am totally amazed and almost speechless!
We are so proud of you. Ang galing gumawa ng story. I think my future kids will be reading books you will be writing.
Keep it up!

Ate ko, why so sweeet?! Love you muchísimo!
'Thank you for your never ending support.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58119.05
ETH 2357.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36