A Time To Kill—One Of My Favorite Books | #FeedMe

in #story6 years ago (edited)

I read my first John Grisham's book—A Time To Kill when I was about 16 years old.


57475396-6CF1-4070-95ED-8103C9574C94.jpeg


I could say that this book found me. I was rummaging the bookshelves of my brother's father-in-law who happens to be a politician/lawyer. I was actually looking for a book that would pacify my restlessness and I almost gave up because the books that was on display are something that I really have no interest in.

I was about to go out of the room when suddenly I tripped over this book as if it is its way of saying, "Please read me!" —and so I did.

From then on John Grisham has been one of my favorite authors.

A Time To Kill, has touched my heart in a way its story has never left my mind. I'll never forget how I've been part of the story just by simply reading it.

  • I was devastated that I can't help Tonya Hailey, the 10 year-old girl who was raped and beaten by two chauvinistic pigs, James "Pete" Willard and Billy Ray Cobb.
  • My heart was so happy when Carl Lee Hailey, Tonya's father, killed those rapist with an M-16 (I was secretly hoping that I was there to help him pull the trigger.)
  • I was also there sitting nervously in the courtroom for every trial.
  • I was shouting inside my head as if I can warn Jake Brigance, an attorney who helps and represents Carl Lee Hailey with his criminal case, from evil plans of Freddy, Billy Ray's brother and also from the racist, ultra-conservative, supremacist Ku Klux Klan.
  • I cried so hard when Carl Lee was prosecuted by Rufus Buckley, a corrupt district attorney who hopes that the case will boost his political career.

And I can forget how the story truly influenced me to do and persevere in whatever it is that I think is right, even if I loss everything along the way. Just like what Jake Brigance did.


So yes. I am recommending this book for you to read. Let me know your thoughts about it.

#KnowWhoTheRealMonsterAre
#NoMeansNo
#StopVictimBlaming
#ProtectOurYoung

“Mr. Buckley, let me explain it this way. And I'll do so very carefully and slowly so that even you will understand it. If I was the sheriff, I would not have arrested him. If I was on the grand jury, I would not have indicted him. If I was the judge, I would not try him. If I was the D.A., I would not prosecute him. If I was on the trial jury, I would vote to give him a key to the city, a plaque to hang on his wall, and I would send him home to his family. And, Mr. Buckley, if my daughter is ever raped, I hope I have the guts to do what he did.”


“With murder, the victim is gone, and not forced to deal with what happened to her. The family must deal with it, but not the victim. But rape is much worse. The victim has a lifetime of coping, trying to understand, of asking questions, and the worst part, of knowing the rapist is still alive and may someday escape or be released. Every hour of every day, the victim thinks of the rape and asks herself a thousand questions. She relives it, step by step, minute by minute, and it hurts just as bad.
Perhaps the most horrible crime of all is the violent rape of a child. A woman who is raped has a pretty good idea why it happened. Some animal was filled with hatred, anger and violence. But a child? A ten-year-old child? Suppose you're a parent. Imagine yourself trying to explain to your child why she was raped. Imagine yourself trying to explain why she cannot bear children.”



Have you voted your witness?
Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @acidyo, @blocktrades, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank, @sircork @enginewitty and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.
To cast your votes, just go to

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

I also love John Grisham- the first I read was The Client way back college days, and I can't stop reading his books afterwards. A Time to Kill is indeed a page turner. 😊

It is just amazing how he can make you feel like you are really in the same page with his characters. And his wisdom...just WOW!

I loved the movie based on this book. It was both very dramatic and heartbreaking, just like you describe it. The movie was very well done, in my opinion, and really did the book justice. Have you seen it?

Enjoy your 20% upvote!

Thank you @oleg326756! Much appreciated. I truly admire your works.

As with the movie, its very rare that I watch a movie adapted from a book, more often it is just disappointing, but since you recommend it would surely give it a try!

Thank you @steemph.uae! I do appreciate your support as always.
More Power!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you @c-squared! I do appreciate your support as always.
More Power!

I have read a lot of his books but I forgot the stories. I have to re-read them lol! I also like his books not related to crime and law like Playing for Pizza.

Maybe I should watch the movie A Time to Kill.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Yes! He is really good even if it's not legal-thriller genre.
Try A Painted House.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59431.63
ETH 2320.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50