Be a Lion in a World full of Sheep

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Be a Lion in a World full of Sheep

I have always been a big-time believer in things happening for a reason, whether we know that reason or not. I am Megan and this is my story.

Since I could remember, I was this easy-going, shy and stubborn girl. Never said a single word unless I want some food. Going to pre-school, I made a friend (well actually my mom made me a friend). Although he was a bully, I still adored having someone, someone to talk to, to play with, to make fun of. I was given the choice of staying in pre-school for grade R, or going to grade R in big school. Obviously as a 5 year old I desired being a big girl, so I went with big school. Little did I know I'd lose my one and only friend.

Moving to Johannesburg for Primary School, was a big adjustment. New people, new school, new teachers, new city. I didn't like change at all. So on we went in primary school, I made some friends and lost some. It's part of life.

High-school... Coming into grade 8, you are the most bullied in the school. So I knew. I just blended in with the crowd with initiation, trying to stay low. As school actually started, and we met new people and the older kids came along, we saw the ugly truth of today generations of boys. I was targeted by 4 older boys in school, they made my life hell. I received a bad reputation. I just held my head high, and went through life as if nothing happened. The time passed, and by July I was actually so popular in school. 

In this year I received my first dirtbike, a Honda crf 230. I was ecstatic. I started racing, and with this action in my life I became even more popular by the boys, and more hated by the girls. Even though I was one of the most known girls in my school, I was alone. I had no real friends. So I started homeschooling 2 years later.

Knowing myself, I overthink too much. Which isn't necessarily a bad thing. I have a goal, and I'd do anything to make that goal a reality. As time passed, and as I overthought, I realized I was a lion and it's a lonely life. I never fit in, nor followed the leader. As all the sheep tag along, talking about make-up, boys and nails, I am out here, making my dreams reality. 

So if I can give you advice, never try to fit in, by trying to fit in you loose the oppurtunities to find yourself. The handful of people who are the lions in this world, are the people knew they were born to stand out.

As a lion you walk alone...
Sort:  

I AM SO PROUD OF YOU MEGAN!!!!!

Megs , I just read your post and love it !! and its 100% the truth that you have spoken .

Thanks Jenese!

Great article, great picture, very inspirational one.

nice post @megan and nice story, but the lion need the others to be loved and admired...walk alone yeah damn right

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53776.88
ETH 2232.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30