Original poem for STEEMIT - Another Excuse

in #story8 years ago

Oh no, look, another excuse
comes tumbling from these lips of mine
to tell you the truth of it I'm done
trying to get through the days
rationalising lies that I've been telling my mates
It's all the same shite different day
I'm over-analysing life and getting paralysed by my past mistakes
and it's depressing as hell
when it does nothing when I'm telling myself to
Stop worrying about things you can't control.
Lighten up pal, learn to let go.
Stop dwelling on dreams you won't achieve
and learn to be content with that what is there for me.

I'm sick and tired of sitting online
flicking through pictures of the risks my mates are taking with their lives
and waiting or a change in mine
but doing nothing to create it.
I used to feel so creative
I hate it.
It's not apathy trapping me
I'm just lazy, and that's the fact that I've seen,
and it's depressing as hell
when it does nothing when I'm telling myself to
Stop worrying about things you can't control.
Lighten up pal, learn to let go.
Stop dwelling on dreams you won't achieve
and learn to be content with that what is there for me.

Sort:  

We've all been there. Great poem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58522.98
ETH 3089.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41