You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bushwick : A Prepper Discussion

in #story6 years ago (edited)

That was good enough of a review that I won't need to watch the movie. From what you say this flick seems to want to just lead us into the plot, civil unrest in the 21st century.

I thought about this a lot myself and believe it can not happen today. People have become sterile in which finger pointing and suing people has become the norm.

I think the Internet and how people mostly interact now with the use of technology has made many lose focus on taking care of a country and its well being.

If there were to be chaos and the governing system falls apart I do not disagree that there would be violence or looting. Yet I doubt there are enough citizens willing to stand up for what they believe in than to lay down and be obedient.

So many broken promises yet the government and authorities with power remains intact and getting stronger. Apologies for going off a tangent.

Sort:  

Tangents allowed and appreciated.

There have been forces trying to create a civil war for more than a decade now. I think if Hillary had won, then it would be more likely. And, this would only be because she would make the economy worse, which would drive more anger.

I have a personal theory that riots only work when it is really hot and has been hot. The heat makes people irritable and they are more easy to work in to a frenzy and to sustain it with more uncomfortable weather. Since I believe we are heading into cooler temperatures, this tactic isn't going to work. Since we have signs of a better economy (I see more Help Wanted signs everywhere), then there will be less pressure from that side as well.

However, if another even were to cause the collapse of the power and transportation system, then what I describe that happens in Bushwick about cities, will come true. And, I believe there are still several situations that could cause that, some of which would not be man-made nor preventable.

Another note about the Internet voices. I would say that more than half of the Internet tough guys wouldn't be able to hold their own in the real world. We see from the Antifa/BlackBlock/Occupy/Anarchist protesters, that there are small groups of people who can be convinced to act upon violent tendencies. I can see that these agitators would be the ones that would cause civil disorder and depending on how big of a presence they are in a particular city, will determine how quickly that city goes up in flames.

I agree push come to shove people likely will push back. Nowadays I too often see that being politically correct is paramount in our society. One misspoke word could get me fired or get sued by neighbor for not putting a leash on a 4 lb puppy.

I am no internet tough guy or in real life :p, I think. Lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56766.86
ETH 2492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36