So I quit my job

in #story7 years ago

Hi
They call me Maverick. I am 32 years old and I am from Poland so please don't bash me for bad english x)

I did not know if I want to introduce myself or just share whatever I want to share. First of all I resigned from my job. I was working for foreign price comparison site which had office in my country. After 4 years of stagnation and constant nagging I had to change. So I did but this story is for another post because it is a bit sad and I don't want to be sad right now.

So I am without a job for around 3 months already...well 3 months 5 days and 11 hours. I got my university degree 5 years ago but no one wants to hire me, probably need more luck but let me get back to the story...
My wife constantly wants stuff from me. She is always like: throw out the trash, make me a lunch, make me sandwiches to work, do this, do that. So I do but she is always nagging me that I don't do anything whole day even though I wake up at 5 in the morning (because I can't sleep), I try to search for a job and send CVs, then I mostly do stuff at home like cleaning, lunch and she comes back. She was constantly saying I am too fat(and I am) so I started to work out a bit but not much because exercising is not good for my back because I had broke my spine when I was 18 but I can still walk so don't worry about it :) (that's another long story)

So I figured out I can do a project of some sort in woodworking but my wife was not very happy about it and I said OK!
I will paint our bathroom door like you asked me(she was asking about it at least 6 months) but it is not a regular door.
First of all we live in Krakow which is a nice old city but it is OLD. We live in former jewish ghetto where buildings are very old, rooms are dark, we do not get much light here and doors are even older. They are made of real wood not like modern doors and they are heavy as hell. Let's call our door a name, maybe Bob...so Bob has white paint on him but it is so old it changed to yellowish color, my wife wanted me to scratch some paint from Bob and just paint him but there was so much paint on Bob I could not scratch him at all. I think there was at least 10 layers of paint on Bob.
Some time ago I bought a gas torch so I thought I can burn that paint off with it

palnik topex.jpg

Well I do not have much money so I figured I can use that instead of buying a heat gun which is expensive, also I already had that torch so for me it was a win win situation (no it wasn't).
I started and boy it was so damn hard!
IMG_20170607_150032.jpg

Worst part was that smell. There was so much paint on Bob I had to burn him for a long time. That is why Bob is so dark on right side. After few days I barely did anything but on sunday we we went to my wife parents for a lunch and my father in law told me he had a heat gun and oh boy oh boy I was so happy!

IMG_20170608_143027.jpg

Second bad thing or one that actually was killing me was my back pain. I could only work for 2-3 hours a day because I had to search for a job, do lunch for my wife and me, clean Bob and ventilate all of our rooms because Bob had very old paint on him and I am pretty sure they used lead 50 years ago, also I was dying from pain x)

First day with my new heat gun I did a lot of job

IMG_20170608_143051.jpg

I had to get that handle off as well

IMG_20170608_220047.jpg

I did not even done half of Bob and did not touch door-frame at all. I collected 1.4kg of dry paint which is 3lbs.
I figured out I need to do this every day for at least 2 hours to finish Bob in a week, at least that is what i thought.

After a week and a half I did both sides of Bob but I left some gaps for later because they were the worst.

IMG_20170612_184917.jpg

I also did inside of bathroom which was a bit easier or I was just more experienced

IMG_20170612_184932.jpg

IMG_20170612_184945.jpg

After 2 weeks, well not 2 because I can't work on weekends, so after around 8 days of work I was able to get most of that paint off and my father in law lend me a sander and I was able to sand some of that burned wood off and I also collected 4kg of dry paint which is around 8.8lbs.

IMG_20170615_235901.jpg

Also Bob is darker on bathroom side because he is covered with some sort of coatingIMG_20170615_235826.jpg

I think I have to do more work tomorrow but I am not sure. I will update you with my work later on if you want me to.
I think I will submit a story how I got into crypto ;) it is quite interesting. Upvote this if you liked it and see ya :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65236.35
ETH 3483.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51