A Midnight encounter

in #story6 years ago

image

I woke up suddenly from my sleep, with sweat dripping all over me. It's happening again, they're here again! These monsters, these bloodthirsty vampires. I could clearly hear them shrieking as they circled me cautiously.

"Not tonight!" I told myself.

I sat up on my bed. My pillow was already soaked with sweat. I reached for my flashlight, but immediately I turned it on, they vanished. I could still hear their whispers though.

I sprang up from the bed and went for my weapon. I needed to fight them off. If they thought I was gonna go down easy, then they're in for a big surprise!

All over the wall were traces of blood from past encounters. They should have known me by now. I am not the one to go down without a fight!

And hence it began! The battle of the titans.

I took a fighting stance, my weapon at the ready in one hand, my flashlight positioned firmly in the other. I paused and listened. In this kind of battle, your auditory senses are assets you don't wanna play with.

I listened carefully to ascertain where their horrible, annoying shrieks were coming from. The most prominent was emanating from my right hand side. I turned sharply and flashed my light in that direction. Sure enough, there it was, baring it's ugly fangs. I didn't waste time. I struck with practiced accuracy and sent fresh blood splashing onto the wall.
One down!

Suddenly, everywhere was quiet. I could no longer hear them screeching or shrieking or even hear the faintest whisper. I wasn't afraid. I was already determined, none of their ugly fangs will be penetrating my tender skin again.

Not tonight!

image

The wind howled loudly outside, lifting the curtains up high. It was getting colder, but sleep was very far away from me. It's just one down, with a lot more to go. I checked the time. It was still a few minutes past 2am.

I turned off my flashlight. I knew they thrived in darkness and in order to be able to lure them out and eliminate them, I needed to make the room somewhat conducive for them. I wasn't wrong.

Within seconds of turning off my flashlight, I heard them again. This time, way louder than before. It was either they were "screaming out vengeance" for their fallen Comrade or their leader had given them a motivational speech and they were shouting out their concurrence. Either way, they had only one goal - suck me dry. That wasn't happening.

Not tonight!

I flashed my light at the wall and there they were, perching cautiously, about 5 of them. I couldn't take them all at a go, but I couldn't let them all go either. I made up my mind and killing all the hesitation cropping up within me, I positioned my weapon firmly and struck again.

The blood that spurted out nearly blinded me. They had obviously made a feast of me while I was sleeping. I counted 3 dead ones, I couldn't find the other two. I didn't need to look too far because at that moment, with a loud screech, they dove straight at me. I parried and ducked sharply, nearly dropping my flashlight in the process.

Now things were getting interesting!

They were now obviously on the offensive.

I wasn't scared nor deterred though. If anything could keep me safe from them and at the same time eliminate them, it was the reliable weapon I had in my right hand. It had never ever failed me.

And so it continued. I went on doing battle with them, dropping bodies after bodies of those horrible monsters.

Finally, after about 2 hrs and 37 bodies, I knew I had won the battle for the night. I packed all their dead bodies together and left them on one side of the room. I'll take care of them in the morning.

I took another look at the weapon that did all the damage:

my 2-month old slippers.

image

There was something about it, a certain positive vibe that spurred me on, coupled with it's extreme portability and handiness!
Ever since popular, commercial insecticides stopped working for me, it had been my able companion and reliable weapon in my fight against these bloodthirsty monsters - these Mosquitoes!

It always seemed like they would wear gas masks anytime I fumigated the room, only to come out and torment me when the air cleared out. So I had to toggle from automatic mode to manual mode, and so far, the manual mode of operation has proved to be quite effective (to the detriment of my sleep though).

image
So that was it! That was how I battled the mosquitoes that flooded my domain the previous night. You can call me the dread of mosquitoes if you wish, but I had to do what I had to do!

I don't know what this night will look like, but I'm sure the story of the dreaded mosquito terminator must have reached the insect kingdom. But rest assured, whatever happens tonight, I'll be very ready for them!

END

@newbieresteemday
@reachout

Did you enjoy this piece? Do you love reading fiction?
Then checkout my blog for more interesting stories:
https://steemit.com/@mapens

It's still me #mapens.
image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62860.75
ETH 3112.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86