Where Is Your dream Destination?

in #story6 years ago

When I was 12 years old, I fell in love with Fez, Morocco. Last year, I made my dream come true.

Before I left, I had to stop listening to the stereotypes as they started to make me feel very anxious. I planned to be in Morocco for just two weeks. However, two weeks turned into a month, then the next challenge was trying to determine when to leave!

I fell in love with the city, the people, and culture. I was no longer a tourist. I was helping in the riad (Guest House) and giving free tours. People in the Medina (old city) began recognizing me, and even though they didn’t know my name they would greet me by saying “Salam Mexico.”

As time passed, I started to see things in a different way. Trivial things no longer bothered me because I saw real poverty. Getting upset because I couldn't find some materialistic item was no longer a sad moment because I saw real sadness. Being happy with a new expensive purse seemed meaningless as I saw and felt the happiness of others.

To all my Muslim friends, travelers and my lovely Morocco, Ramadan Mubarak! 💛

Where is your dream destination?

image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58391.36
ETH 2348.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36