SOMETHING I THINK IS WORTH SHARING

in #story6 years ago

Jambo! I am Soumeya, 33.
My father was born in Algeria and my mother was born in Germany (half german half polish). I was born in Paris, and have never really been considered French by french people, probably due to my color, my name and my religion (Islam).
I grew up in a poor neighbourhood, mostly populated with african immigrants.

Today, I can bear witness it was a blessing, Al Hamdullilah (Thank God!)

Because I was looking for my Homeland, I've been travelling my whole life and learned Home is a state of mind, totally unrelated to a location.
Because I fight to prove the value of women in the society, I am today the first female business manager in my team, and the only expatriate.
Because I believe in challenges and self improvement, I accepted this new position a year ago and I now live in Nairobi and learn Kiswahili. I'm in charge of our activity in 19 african countries.

My life is amazing, everyday is a dream!

Because I want everyone to feel as lucky and blessed as I do, I invite you to never get scared, have faith, never say no to an opportunity because you are afraid you might fail, and don't listen to others'opinion: simply learn about yourself.

Karibu

image

Sort:  

That's beautiful! Sometimes we need to hear such things. By the way, an acquaintance of mine has a friend like that; Muslim from Iran, yet still valuing women in society. Believe me. I value all women in society no matter what religion, race, or anything else that identifies them. I'm often amazed to hear stories such as this one; needless to say. I followed you. I want to hear more!

Thank you. We are taught the only thing to fear is God's wrath if you behave badly. I truly believe there is no limit regarding what you can achieve, as long as you don't wrong anyone.

I agree. How true the rest of society thinks that is, that's debatable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44