If you are true to yourself, you can create something truly astounding

in #story7 years ago

I was asking again.

“Miss Theresa, but I have a great idea for this project and it perfectly meets the evaluation requirements. I have a plan to reimagine Hogwarts castle with modern and futuristic architecture.”

Miss Theresa looked up at me.

“Are you okay with receiving the lowest final grade for this project? If not, go and follow the project instruction sheet that I printed out for you. Madison, be realistic!”

I said, "Thank you" and walked away. Her “be realistic” kept hammering uncontrollably inside my head.

Two weeks later, on the final evaluation day, we presented our work in front of the entire class. I hadn’t received any feedback from Miss. Theresa for the past two weeks.

It was my turn.

I put my giant Hogwarts castle on the podium with other ‘Harry Potter’ things full of solar batteries, PV modules, electric motor and voltage converter attached to it (believe me, it was visually very artistic). Tesla Power Wall made with cereal box cover was attached to Dumbledore’s office wall. Mini broomsticks with electric motors and batteries made of wooden chopsticks were attached next to the Quidditch stadium and miniature of Ron’s flying car with Tesla (not Ford) logo on it was parked next to the castle. That was my presentation.

The show was over. Miss Theresa told me to stay behind. The class ended, and I walked over to her desk with my Hogwarts castle. Miss Theresa said nothing but showed her grade-book. A+

At that very moment, I experienced an epiphany: As long as I keep my faith in the thing that I'm doing, I didn’t have to follow the path of the majority and countless rules that others have come up with. It was perfectly fine to be too ambitious and too independent-minded. It was at that moment that I realized I didn’t have to stop thinking big and taking risks. If I'm true to myself, I can create something truly astounding.

Sort:  

Having a "Be yourself" approach may seems stupid to most of the people on this planet but this is the only way to let people know that you're different from others!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62625.86
ETH 3333.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47