Tylers Tale - Prologue

in #story7 years ago (edited)

                                                                                       Prologue

I was born a fully clothed, 37 year old man, on a cold white floor to the sound of booming, echoing laughter. For a moment, I was under the assumption that I was possibly stuck to the wall, as reality shifted, my perspective was re-aligned. The previous instance of me had vanished before my face made contact with the linoleum. I had just managed to steady my legs under myself as it occurred to me the source of laughter... was coming from me.

Before my eyes could focus, I saw the movie 'Mr Destiny' playing. Michael Caines thick British accent muffled by the low hum of massive diesel engines running in the background, as his finger, a bright white light was illustrating the problem I already knew, but didn't fully understand. Like an uncompleted jig-saw puzzle and the box it came in, I knew the conclusion, but still had to put the pieces together.

                         

                                     *Picture taken from the movie "Mr Destiny"*

I missed the opportunity to brace myself for the fall. Everything was instantly white and vertigo gave the perception that I had somehow fallen up. The possibility of massive brain damage quickly escalated when I heard the voice of god ring though my ears.

 "No, what have I done?" The voice was so loud I assumed everyone heard it.

Wait... I was wrong again. The voice was mine.

The confusion is overwhelming and only slightly overcast by a need to find a toilet. I'm going to be sick. I've struck my head hard enough to incur a concussion. Like watching a recording of a rocket blast off in reverse, I was suddenly very aware of my location. I am on the warship HMCS Montreal in front of 7 mess on 3 deck. The shutoff valve that impacted my forehead left a golf ball sized welt, my eyes watering, and a high pitched ring in my ears.

The pain is immense and radiating through my body like an electrical storm. I need a help.

Whatever I was doing is forgotten about quickly, I have to find a doctor. 

My first step doesn't work. I'm dragging my right foot. I can taste copper and I hear myself laughing.

I need help right now.

This isn't the beginning or ending of my story. This is the evolution of me, my universe, and the first confirmed, real-life superhero, Maxwell Power.




This is a draft of my first page, and only includes about 5 seconds of my life. It's a work in progress.

Is this worth reading? Or should I stop now? I'm not a professional writer or content creator by any means... I think I failed English a couple times because of poor attendance. So, being told to stop wouldn't hurt my feelings. :D

If there is some interest behind it, Ill write up chapter 1. If not, I'll find a new topic to post about.

Let me know what you think in the comments! (I appreciate brutal honesty over a beautiful lie any day of the week)

Thanks for taking the time to check out my first draft of Tylers Tale.

Sort:  

Greetings @madhatt Steem is beautiful because of steemers like you who are so creative. Interesting start for a story. Is that you in the photo or a photo you taken for your story?
I suppose I will have to follow you for the rest of the story and of course upvote.
OpenSteemit.gif
Welcome to Steemit and I'm happy you've joined us. I hope this Quick Start Guide will help you:

https://www.steemithelp.net/
Stay Creative > Keep Steeming On

The photo is from the movie 'Mr Destiny'
It will take me a bit to get it all finished up, but Ill make a book of it, and upload in chapters.

Thanks for the comment steemisbeautiful :D Much appreciated.

That sounds fantastic. @madhatt remember to always credit your sources and put a link. If not steemers think you did the work.
I've never seen Mr. Destiny. I will have to watch it.

Nice. Ya. I should do that. Thanks for the heads up... that's not my picture.
Ill amend my first post.
Thanks :D

//edit
Done! Just added Picture taken from the movie "Mr Destiny" under the pic

No problem. You were right to put a picture in your post. High Quality posts have two or more and you have a great post with over 100 words. There are many public domain sites that are free to use High Quality pictures/vectors/video https://pixabay.com/ is a great one Find two that pictures easily to fit your story. They are free to use personally and commercially. Credit website to let people know you are not taking credit for something that's not yours. Photos are improtant and there's a lot of sites that offer this along with vectors and videos. Too good to be true but it's a new world of giving to others > freely.

"I missed the opportunity to brace myself for the fall. Everything was instantly white and vertigo gave the perception that I had somehow fallen up. The possibility of massive brain damage quickly escalated when I heard the voice of god ring though my ears."
action-1838330_1920.jpg
https://pixabay.com/en/action-adult-checkered-shirt-1838330/

Well it looks like he's falling down but you get the idea. Right? There is no problem getting media for your stories and plus you can take your photos on your phone, too!

That's a great idea too.
I just wanted to use the one picture from that movie, because it was exactly what I saw...
Im still pretty new to steemit, but, Ill make the corrections for future posts, although, that was the only one that I used so far that I didnt make myself (screengrabs were used for my previous writeups for crypto)
Ill make sure I do the same for future posts.
Thanks again!

Welcome to steemit!
Follow me @digitaldollar

Thanks digitaldollar!
Was nice of you to check out my blog and leave a comment too!

certainly had me, Sounds like an interesting story. In which year does it begin?

1980 is the start.
It gets pretty weird pretty fast... and the best/worst part, its a true story.
Thanks for checking out my blog, and taking the time to comment, very much appreciated.

That was the year I was born. I will be waiting for your next part.

Welcome aboard! Follow me at https://steemit.com/@bitgeek

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66361.02
ETH 3462.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20