The True Cost of Kindness

in #story7 years ago

I like how I can just be myself on steemit and share my experiences with all of you...
Today, I was reminded of one very important thing I've learned.

Life wasn't so perfect, I had to do morally questionable things because my life was so unstable. My worldly possessions never staying with me for too long because I had to scrounge up money for another month so I can have four walls.
I knew what it's like to not have a warm bed, a heater, or even a room altogether. Most of the time I'd pick my home over food and skimp out on a few things and just having things in a can, just having one a day. I know what it's like to collect cans to TRY and have money for something little for myself.

Mind you, I don't lie my life as a bum... I'm a web and graphic designer, born into a relatively wealthy family at the time. I had it all, but it always just takes one bad day for a life to go downhill. Certain circumstances have made the job market hard for me, and the fact that I'm in a country not of my own now. I choose not to turn back, whatever little I have to myself is still worth more than what I have left at 'home'

Most people would look at a simple slice of cake and think nothing of it. I see different.
It was my birthday, I was out collecting cans to save enough to buy credits to call home with. I'd always lie and make up some story about a big project going on and making good with myself. I went to the store to buy my prepaid phone credits. I had enough left over to buy myself a bar of Snickers. I was hungry... But home was far away. I thought I deserved it though. So I decided to get myself one and just walk home instead.

I made my phone call home, same old crap I'd say. I'm fine, everything's okay... blah, blah, blah... I didn't want anyone to know how miserable life was for me. After a short call, I sat myself down on a table. Catching glances at the cakes they had, just thinking how good a slice of my favorite cheesecake would be right now. I shook it off and just unwrapped my candy bar and hungrily went through it in a split second and asked if they could spare a cup of water. The old lady behind the counter smiled at me and asked: "are you leaving soon?"
I nodded. "You should sit for a bit, I have something for you."
She walked around the counter with a small dish.
My eyes sparkled when I saw a slice of blueberry cheesecake with a tiny candle.
"It's not much, but you should at least have something better for your birthday"
The lady overheard me...

I teared up at the first bite just realizing how good a cheesecake tasted. It felt like it was my first time having one all over again.
"Can I pay you back next time?"
She slowly shook her head.
"kindness is free" she said, "It costs $0.00 dollars to make a person happy. Just promise to give back what you can to the rest of the world and everything else will follow."

The weight of the world seemed lighter. The thought of giving up on myself went away. It brought back my will to keep going and helped me have a sense of hope again.

I never got the chance to thank her again, but she was right.
I held on to my precious life, though not completely optimal, I've slowly pieced myself back together. It's a rough journey, but I'm doing everything I can to get there.

Ever since then, I grew up a bit more. Acted less of a snotty brat and made me learn that sometimes a small act of kindness can make the biggest difference in someone's life. And I'll always keep sharing what I can to those around me.

Dear steemit, kindness has no price.
But it's worth more than all the money in the world to some people.
Pass it on :)

Sort:  

it always just takes one bad day for a life to go downhill

too many people in the world dont think it can happen to them. Thank you for the kind story, its good to hear of kindness in the world as we seem to be in short supply and every little bit is a bright light that people need to see to remember its there.

thank you for taking the time in reading, yes it is true. I would say, misery is like a forge, sometimes you have the already strong metals that can stand it, and then you have the weaker ones that crumble or burn out. but just like an alloy, you combine those together and you make something even stronger. Everybody should share those little strengths they have and build up those around them instead of turning a blind eye and stand idly and selfishly by. As they say, those that suffered the most are probably the kindest people in the world because they know how cruel the reality of life is.
keep on livin!

I feel its important to listen to peoples experiences so it was a joy to come across an honestly written piece.

I have a song lyric that says:

Everything close is falling apart
So I smash the bricks to put it back together

It pretty much shares the sentiment in your forge analogy.

It's nice to know how most of the replies to my posts on the steem community are always genuine. Thank you for taking the time in reading, sharing always makes me feel better about life and helps me think better of myself. In the end, luck doesn't exist. We always had the power to build our own destinies in whatever means we have available.

This so so true. Upvoted and reblogged.

Thanks for reading :)

Congratulations @m0b1usz3r0! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58306.22
ETH 2596.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39