I believe so

in #story7 years ago

image.png

As I've mentioned, I grew up in a Baptist school. It was a small school and not like you could just blend in with the crowd, which I certainly did not. I was a bit of a rebel I suppose and had my fair share of attention.

I guess I've always been a bit outspoken, thougb it's waning here at this current point in my life. But, not so much then. I was eager to share my interests. Singing rock songs instead of church hymns. Wearing my shirt untucked and keeping my hair as long as I could pushing the boundaries. Both of which were not allowed as we were expected to keep a much more respectable appearance. But, I was more interested in emulating the style fashion of Axle Rose then the local banker.

Blasphemy! I'm sure many would look and think. But it was just my taste and what I liked. I was not looking to be disrespectful. I actually held much respect for my teachers and pastor. I even felt a close connection with God as early as I could remember. Gods presence was as certain as any other person at that time. So it certainly was troubling to be rejected, as it felt, for simply expressing myself by people "of God". I didn't have a problem with the way anyone else wanted to present themselves. Judge not lest you be judged?

"Devils music". That was generally the argument. Metallica was one of my favorite bands in my youth and quite an easy target. However, many of topics from that particular group were far from satanic, often dealing with political or personal strife. Family trials or even struggles with addiction. Devils music? Seemed more like humans music to me. But what do I know. I'm not the adult. A typical reply was that, if it does not give glory to God it is of the devil. This was hard to rectify in my youth. I even challenged the notion at one point with a particular pastor who was an avid sports fan. He was also one of the football teams coach. To him, I inquiried..."how does a sports team give glory to God?"

I can't even conjure up a bit of his reply anymore but I don't think it matters. What I determined then is that people like what they like and they can rationalize it any way they want. Conversely, people don't like what they don't like and there's not much that can be done to change that. I should not carry bags of guilt for what my preferences are. However, it's hard to shake off years of influence and often I wonder if I ever will.

Sort:  

Congratulations @luna-tc! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62871.68
ETH 3441.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51