You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 'The Other Town' - Steemit Story Chain #15 Where You Write the Story and 100 Whaleshares for the Winner

in #story7 years ago

#6

I knew I had to keep my cool. Losing your temper in a police station is a one way street to 'lock-up-town'. And it was Christmas. And, most importantly, I didn't believe them. I took a deep breath.
'I'd like my lawyer please,' I said calmly. The detective loomed over me. I could smell his sweat, rancid and sour.
'A lawyer won't help you now. This is open and shut'.
'And I think I'd like my phone call too.'
He stood up, slammed his fist down on the desk again and glared at me.
'Phones aren't working. The lines are down.'
'Oh, is it snowing? How lovely.'
'No damn snow. Now talk.'
'I can wait.'
'No, lets' talk now.' I knew is plan. he had limited time to try and get something out of me. If I reacted in any way I'd be at his mercy. I needed to buy time.
'Ok, we can talk. What would you like to talk about?'
'Why did you do it?'
'Let's talk about something else. Your tie is nice. Was it a present?'
Like a confused and angry animal he snorted, glared down at the offending tie, yanked it off, threw it across the room and kicked over a chair. I watched the tie land on the back of his chair and slowly slither down onto the floor.
'Quit with the smart answers, he roared 'or I'll crack your damn skull.'
'Who are you spending Christmas with this year?' I saw him take a step towards me. He wanted to hit me. This was good.
'Shut your mouth.'
'Do you live alone?'
He grabbed me by my shirt, his face close to mine. His teeth were gritted in rage. He looked lost for words.
'Maybe your wife has someone else now? And your kids? A proper daddy...' I felt the hot white flashing impact of someone hitting me hard across the head. It was shocking but not painful. I smiled and let myself slide slowly onto the floor.
'I'll need a doctor now. And a cup of coffee. And a compensation payment for police brutality. And a ride home in a taxi, paid for by the force. Thank you detective. And Merry Christmas. Hope it's not too lonely for you.'

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67714.75
ETH 2616.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69