My bitter love tale 2

in #story6 years ago (edited)

continuation
DQmeqwet587fu85VnWkX4Pqc2R5VVJ745Enu5AuRFo44kh6.jpeg

hello there am Biodun.

my name is Dami.

I hope my aunty has not been feeding you with lies about me?,she takes great pleasure in doing so.

(smiles)no nothing of the sort.

OK you ladies take care,and pls kick the gossip out the door.

Biodun happened to be the only son of the family,so the father sent him overseas to complete his education,he had just returned to take over his families business,his father was getting of age and needed him.

The wedding was a grand one ,just like every typical Yoruba wedding,it was vibrant and colourful, each group came with their own foods and had their own canopies,the women were dressed in different aso-ebi the men too in their agbada ,the kids played all around running from one canopy to the other eating every food that was served.my parents were in a separate canopy with aunty folakes family exchanging pleasentaries.I could see biodun watching me from a distance and each time I try to look away I found myself smiling secretly,I can say I was enjoying the way I had his attention.

umm Dami folake just informed me that she forgot the presents she was supposed to give to her brides maids ,do you mind accompanying me to the house to fetch them

sure,let's go

In the car we barely said a word to eachother,what was I to say to him anyway.so I just decided to be quiet and wait for him to start a conversation.

so tell me Dami,where do you school.

I am not in school yet,I decided to learn a trade first before school,due to the increase in unemployment in the country I need something to fall back to in case I don't find a suitable job

I must have impressed myself with that reply

that is nice Dami,so what trade did you venture into

tailoring, I love designing,and someday I hope to an my an signature house too,am going to name it DAMMS SIGNATURE, it has a nice ring to it don't it?.

(smiles)it sure does, let's quickly get the stuffs before everyone starts wondering what is keeping us.

My holiday ended as quickly as it came,two days after the wedding I returned home,back to my life my normal boring life.one day I got a call from Deji asking me to meet him at the junction leading to my house,he didn't sound happy,I feared something had gone wrong ,so I left home immediately to meet him.

Deji what is the matter,you sounded so down on phone

he handed me a letter,going through it,the company he applied for had rejected him,he didn't meet their requirements.

its OK Deji,maybe its God's will

what do you mean its God's will Dami?is it all so Gods will that I loose both parents at a tender age?,this whole thing is really getting at me!!.

calm down Deji,you will definitely get a better one.

when? When will that be?,am tired of this suffering I thought this would be my big break,our big break but now its nothing.

but Deji

I have to leave now Dami,am sorry I can't be here any longer than I want to.

That was the first time I had ever seen Deji in such state,I was rilli terrified,a week passed and not a word from him,two weeks nothing, he neither picked my calls nor return them.so I decided to let him be.he would return to me when he is calm,I hoped.

A month later,my elder brother invited me over to Lagos to spend sometime with his wife,she was already with child before the wedding,he was travelling for a business meeting and needed someone to be with her.

Biodun visited the hose on occasions to drop one or two things from his mom,during his visits we would talk and most times he took me out to enjoy the beautiful sceneries of Lagos.

How is your business coming up

not quite good,I have not had enough money to set it up,my savings are not yet up to my expected capital.

so how much is your expected capital?.

say 200 thousand.

He brought out his cheque book and wrote me a cheque of 300 thousand naira,I was reluctant to accept the gift at first but after much from him and aunty folake,I accepted.when it was time for me to leave,biodun offered to take me home himself,
I don't feel safe with you travelling with a public transport,he said,and since the journey from Lagos to Ibadan wasn't so far,my elder brother consented to him taking me.

With the money I got from Biodun,I quickly rented a shop and started my own business, I was now a boss,I even employed some girls to take care of it whenever I was not around.One day as I was busy at the store,I had an August visitor,it was Deji.

He had been to the house,mother gave him directions to my place of work,he was quite impressed with what I had done for my self,but I lied to him about the source of my income,he might get furious if he learns the truth and I wasn't ready for that.we talked for a while,definitely had some catching up to do,its been a yle since we last spoke.he apologized for his outburst and we were back on track.

I had to travel back to Lagos when I heard aunty folake had put to bed,it was a joyous moment for every one,the celebration lasted for seven days,there was more than enough to eat,sleep was hard most times cause the DJ played from dusk till dawn.

One night Biodun came into my room with a bottle of red wine,
you and I are yet to celebrate,he said,he poured me a glass and handed it over to me.we talked at length about our relationships,I told him about deji and how things had been rough for a while but we were slowly getting back on our feet.when the red wine finished,he brought another bottle,I was already tipsy and had little control of myself.

the next morning I woke up completely naked,I could not believe what happened neither could I remember anything that happened the night before,by the side of the bed lay a blood stain which confirmed my fears that my purity had been taken away from me,i cried till my eyes could no longer priduce water,this incident caused an uproar in the house,my brother was angry at I and biodun,but there was nothing anyone could do about it.

Back home,I had started showing early signs of pregnancy, my mom tried her best to take care of me,but would constantly remind me of how much shame I had brought to the family,Biodun visited home with his family,the marriage rites had to be done before the news gets to the out side world,they promised to come back in a month time to complete the rites,they even gifted my father a BMW,
we don't want our daughter in law walking under the sun they said amusing themselves at the expense of my happiness.

I tried my best to keep this away from Deji,my poor sweet Deji,he would be totally devastated if he gets to find out,I even went to the extent of changing my sim.
One morning,I heard a soft tap on the door,when I went to check who it was , I saw Deji ,I stood there speechless,from time to time his eyes would move from my face to my tummy.he knelt down and cried bitterly,

tell me this isn't true Dami!!,tell me you are not pregnant!!

am sorry

I could barely say a word to him,tears rolled down my cheeks

OK Dami,just tell me the child is mine,I promise not to tell anyone it isn't, we can just move away from here and start a new life together, I promise to be a good father to this child

mama please talk to Dami for me,plead with her not to leave me,I will do anything to keep her

It was too late,one of my brothers who was against me marrying Biodun had gone ahead to inform Deji of my situation.seeing that nothing could be done,he stood up and left.Deji was the one I hoped to marry,but that dream is long gone now,far,far from my reach.

My mother in-law saw to it that I got everything I needed,I never lacked a thing,for some reason we were living in the building right opposite that of my in-laws, I felt maybe because he was the only son,it was hard for his mother to let go of him,but I was yet to discover a hidden truth about Biodun.

to be continued

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68461.58
ETH 3854.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63