MY BITTER LOVE TALE

in #story6 years ago (edited)

images (2).jpeg
Image source

DAMILOLA!!! DAMI!!! DAMILOLA!!!

Mother called out loudly
Emi-mbo(am coming)I answered in our local dialet,it was about 6am, and I was still very much sleepy.

Come and carry these wares to the store after which you will go prepare for work.

But mama it is still very early,let me sleep for a little while I can still take them out by 7.besides who will be there to buy the goods?do you intend selling to the spirits?

Shut up you unfortunate child.I don’t blame you.all you know is eat and sleep.you neither help in the house or at the store, ok at least go to school and learn something so you can be useful to yoursel,no,this is your seventh year after school and you cnt even pass ordinary exam.what did I do to deserve such a child as you.

Mother has always been this way,always quick to remind me of my woes.I picked up the basket and left before she would remind me of every sin ive commited.

Its was going to be my first day as an apprentice in a tailor shop,gainning admission into the university has been a stuggle ,father had grown weary of sponsoring me,finally mother suggested I learn a trade.

Who knew what the universe had in store for me,that was when I met DEJI
Good morning aunty,

Damilola welcome,why are you late?never mind,since this is your first day at work ill pardon you,but make sure you are here latest by 8am everyday do you understand.

Yes aunty I do.

Now go stand beside chioma,she will teach you the basics after which you will help iron these cloths out.

Aunty fatima is my moms best friend,they had been friends since childhood,she is more like a family,I had known her since I was but a child she also happens to be my God mother.chioma was the nicest senior in the shop,senior,that was what I was asked to call everyone who was there before me,she also happened to be the only igbo girl.

Dami,now go iron this skirt for me

I picked up the skirt and headed to the ironing table,I nhad never used a charcoal iron before so it was a bit difficult,that was when he walked in

Ekaro aunty mi(goodmorning aunty)

Ekaro oko mi(good morning my husband)how are you doing,and why are you back today,you told me you had an assingnment to finish up or are you done.(yorubas always had a thing to call every male their husband even if they are their brothers.)

No ma,I want to finish up here.I can use my pc to finish up,its no bother ma.how are my cousins

They are fine,they have gone to school anyway,take the keys in the left drawer there is soup in the freezer.
Ok ma,I just need to rest a bit.

Deji is aunty fatimas cousin,he was slenderly built,his skin shone like it had been dipped into hot boiling chocolate,he had the cutest smile and the brightest teeth i had ever seen on a man.I had not been paying attention to my work and had placed the burning iron on my palm

Ouch ouch jesus it hurts

What have you done Dami,quickly folake get me some salt to place on it else it will swell,here Deji help me hold her hand

His touch gave my heart away,his palm was so smooth I wished he could hold my hands forever,my pain eased,for a moment I forgot my condition and let my mind drown into sweet fantasy,it was coming to come to play.i tried to curtail my joy but could not,he caught me before i could kill the smile already built up on my lips.

You can go home for today Dami,comeback when you feel better,Deji can you see to it that she gets home safely.and be back soon so you can go get the children from school….

MY BEGINNING OF ANOTHER WORLD.

Do you feel better,does it still hurt,can I get you some pain reliever

Am fine Deji,it doesnt hurt anymore,thank you for your help

We talked at length,about his school and life.he told me how he lost his parents to a plane crash at a very tender age and how aunty fatima had taken him in and cared for him all his life.he asked about my family and school,I told him what I could,leaving my failures aside,I was not ready to open that part of me yet,we talked till we got to the house,I got lost in our conversation I did not notice my mother sitting in front of the house

Good afternoon ma

Good afternoon my son,yes you why are you home early what havoc have you caused this time around and what happened to your hand.this stupid girl you will not put me to shame.

Its ok ma,it was just an accident,she just needs some rest.my aunty extends her greetings.

Deji defended me,it was the first time anyone ever spoke in my favor,every one I know was always quick to condemn me,may be I truely am the black sheep of the family.he left as soon as he came promising to come back to check up on me.

That night I saw Deji in my dreams,he was dressed like a knight,and I the princess in distress.just like my favourite fairy tale movie he called out to me to throw down my golden hair so he could climb up to rescue me from the wicked witch and her fierce Dragon.slowly I let my hair down and watched as my prince charming made his way up to me.come to me my love let us ride into the sunset unto our ever after,he took my hands as we locked gazed,it was a dreamy moment to cherish,he kissed me passionately and i awoke to reality.

The rest of my day was spent reminiscing I couldn’t get my mind off of Deji,twice I had been caught in my own fantasy land about how Deji and I became the perfect couple,how our kids loooked and how happy we could be together .

Deji and I had been seeing eachother for a while now,he always came around during school breaks,he had become a part of my family,everyone knew about us ,we were more than an item,dad is soo fond of him, they would constantly chat about history and science and whatsoever that made men happy.mom would call him her small husband cause he was always helping out in the kitchen.if there was anything as a husband material,he was more than it.it was his final year and school and he invited me to come celebrate with him.mom and dad had approved.

Do you love me Dami

Of cause Deji I do,why ask when you know how I truly feel about you

But you haven’t let me touch you ever since we been together

Deji I told you,am not ready yet.besides I am keeping myself for you,we can have ourselves after we are married,pls Deji.

Deji had been reluctant at first,but after much persuation he agreed to wait till our weeding night.i had completed my training at aunty fatimas,Deji was on his pursuit for a better life,things weren't as rosy as we imagined it would,getting cash to start up a business was stressful,dad had retired from his job so he could not sponsor me.i couldnt ask anything of Deji,he could barely hold himself together.

i applied for a job in a firm Dami,the interview would be up in about a week

that is great Deji,this will be your big break,i pray you get picked

no baby its our big break,then i shall come and take you away,so we can start a family together.

my elder brother was preparing for his wedding,his fiance had invited me over to lagos to help her with her wedding shopping so she needed her husbands sister with her.Deji had been reluctant at me leaving but there was nothing he could do.i left for Lagos two days after.aunty folake was kind to me,she treated me like a sister and not a sister in-law that i am,she told me alot about her family and how she would love for me to meet her only brother.

his name is biodun,you will surely like him

thank you aunty but am already engaged with someone else,he dosent have much to offer but he is sufficient for me

its ok my dear i just want you to become friends with him,that is all.

while we were discussing about the wedding and planning how grand it was going to be biodun walked in,he was quite catchy,his deodorant filled the room the moment he walked in,tall and well built he looked like his body had been crafted by the gods.a gasp of breath escaped my lungs as he took my hands to introduced himself

hello there am Biodun

to be continued

Sort:  

Nice story...
But do well to make good use of your punctuation marks, they are essential 4 a good post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68880.27
ETH 3763.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43