They asked me: "Why did you decided to start traveling?" Here is my answer! 🎒🏝

in #story5 years ago (edited)

A friend who works with art is collecting personal stories for a project.
She wanted me to write down what the sensations were, the experience of my first change of city and country.
Why did I decided to go out and choose a new place to live?

Here is my answer for her: ✍️

I don’t remember the first time I left to travel because I started very early.

My father was a musician in a circus, so I accompanied him during the holidays for tours in Europe.


Me and him with our caravan

These are my best memories.

Arriving in an unknown city and having the impression that everything is bigger.
Walking in the streets for the first time and observing everything that is unknown.


Manaus: first Brazilian city I’ve visited

You don’t know anything yet about this place but when you will leave it, each corner or person will bring you to a memory, a story, a smell, a feeling.

For me, this sense of newness, of discovery, has become one of the most enjoyable things in life.


Ilha Grande, Rio de Janeiro / Brazil

I decided to leave my country because I quickly realized that the world was big and full of treasures.

I had this intuition of going to South America, it was the place that attracted me more because of the music and the Latin languages.


Pucon, Chile

I also felt that this culture in which I was born did not correspond to my essence.
I wanted something deeper, lighter, truer.

I found traveling what I was looking for without being aware of it: to find myself.


Chapada Diamantina / Brazil

I arrived in a places where the climate was different, the food was different, the language, the connection between people, the way to communicate, to relate.

Then I had to learn eveything again.


Gamboa, Bahia / Brazil

For that I stayed in the euphoria of being lost.

In this joy of the unknown, I lost my structures and I found myself.

At the beginning there is so much information that it seems that the brain can’t process a fifth of what you get.
You don’t understand almost anything.
Then time passes and learning begins.

So you managed to create the connections and soon you immerse yourself in a foreign culture.


Atacama, Chile

Again you find yourself because you realize that there are several person inside who look like with each of us.

Realizing that you are just another child of a large family called humanity.


Jericoacoara, Ceará / Brazil

Sort:  

I'm glad, Lisa, that you traveled like me but to so many places. Love your hair. i was only in Vietnam but you have been all over. Love your photos here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23