Kelimutu; Volcano with lakes of colors

in #story6 years ago

Kelimutu is a volcano, located on the island of Flores, Indonesia. What makes it special are its three lakes that change color over time.

Kelimutu is an active volcano located at 1639 meters above sea level, although its last eruption was in the year 1968.
Kelimutu-Tiwu-Nua-Muri-Koo-Fa-1101x619.jpg

Colored lakes
The most special part of Kelimutu are its three lakes located in the craters that are of different colors and that change over time as a consequence of the chemical reactions of the minerals found in the lakes; Some studies say that color changes can mean an imminent eruption.

Each lake has a name

Tiwu Ata Mbupu or Lake of the Elders

This is the westernmost lake and is dark blue. When I went it seemed almost black, because it was still not lit by the sun.
Kelimiutu-Tiwu-Ata-Polo.jpg

Tiwu Ata Polo or Enchanted Lake

The Enchanted Lake is the smallest and its color is clear turquoise. This is the one that amazed me because it is possible to approach much more than in the other two and the truth is that observing it from the edge is very impressive.

From what I was told, a few years ago it was red.
Kelimutu-Tiwu-Ata-Mbupu.jpg

Tiwu Nuwa Muri Koo Fai or Lake of Men and Young Women
Of the three lakes, this is the largest and hottest and you can have a more panoramic view. Its current color is more bluish turquoise.
Kelimutu-view.jpg

A spiritual place

Locals believe that when someone dies their spirit goes to one of the three lakes depending on their age and personality. In this way, the spirits of parents and old people go to the Lake of the Elders, those of the young go to the Lake of the Men and the Young Women and all those who have committed some crime in their life, will end up in the Lake Charmed.

Following this legend, it is believed that the change in color of the lakes is due to the mood changes of the spirits that live there, although others argue that the changes of color mean political and cultural changes in the region.

My experience

I visited Kelimutu during my stay at the Capa Resort: we picked them up at 2 in the morning, got into the car and started a route of about 3 hours.

When I arrived I noticed that it was colder than I expected, so I dressed in leggings and a jacket and started walking with the rest of the group.

It was already dawning and the sky was dyed with colors.
Kelimutu-clouds.jpg

First we go to the main summit, from where you can see the three lakes.

The road is asphalted, with steps and it is not very steep. It's a short stretch: we walked at a slow pace and reached the top after 15-20 minutes
Kelimutu-path.jpg

First we go to the main summit, from where you can see the three lakes.

The road is asphalted, with steps and it is not very steep. It's a short stretch: we walked at a slow pace and reached the top after 15-20 minutes
Kelimutu-sunrise.jpg

Once up, I was left with my mouth open. The lakes are beautiful, especially the two that are separated by a thin wall, and you breathe a very special energy.

I sat down to observe that natural beauty. I was excited; A breath of gratitude ran through every corner of my being.

After a while my colleagues arrived and we started taking pictures. I decided to take a picture doing the pose of the dancer. I repeated the pose 5 times because the rest of tourists and locals also wanted to take pictures and videos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57257.58
ETH 2345.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40