Animals as lifechangers?

in #story6 years ago

Art_06_Foto_01.JPG

We all have experiences that renew our sense of meaning and purpose... and there are many cases in which animals play a leading role in this task. Those who have a pet at home can genuinely identify with this statement. And those who don't have a pet will probably have heard several stories about how animals benefit people's life, providing them with joy, companionship and a sense of commitment and responsibility. Today we want to share Ana's experience: how having animals as members of her family has improved her life. This is her story…


LIFE BEFORE AND AFTER HAVING ANIMALS AS FRIENDS

Nature and animals has always fascinated me. However, I never felt identified with the idea of having a pet. It was not until many years later that my parents adopted three dogs: Tobo, Alena and Mokaccina. At first, my excitement for the puppies did not go beyond the tenderness they caused me.

But as I shared their company, my relationship with the puppies changed. I was surprised at how my love for them seem to grow each day: I began to talk to them, I caressed them, I slept with them, I gave them toys, we celebrated one of their birthdays and I even started watching dog's and animal movies.

Art_06_Foto_02.JPG

The joy that a pet can provide in a home is invaluable.

I went from listening, by mere courtesy, to the stories of other people's pets, to telling myself the anecdotes of my three puppies (who knows how many people I got bored with these stories).

Until then I began to understand the joy that an animal can bring to a home: their unconditional company, the repertoire of funny stories, the love they offer ... in short, my life was so influenced by my three dogs that I began to get involved, somewhat unconsciously, with issues related animal's protection.

My habits and my lifestyle changed drastically. I stopped consuming meat. I developed more empathy for the animals, and not only for those who used to cause me tenderness: also, for those who are taken as a reference for cuddly toys, like worms, the arachnids, flies or animals of the deep sea.

Art_06_Foto_03.jpg

My family keeps growing! Here’s my sister with Lázaro: one of the four dogs we have adopted by now.


UNDERSTANDING THE LANGUAGE OF HAPPINESS

To be someone who had never had pets, I consider that the most important change in my life was everything that derived from the commitment and responsibility that grows out of the relationship with a pet. Undoubtedly, my perspective on life changed and improved:

The fact of being responsible for the welfare of a pet, causes one to develop empathic and caring skills towards others. This experience made me more sensitive to the needs of other beings, not only of the animals, but also of the people around me.

Art_06_Foto_04.JPG

My family and I share the love and care for animals. We try to help dogs and cats around the neighborhood by organizing or taking them to sterilization campaigns.

  • I noticed that the feeling of isolation was reduced. I have been working remotely as an editor for a couple of years. On several occasions I have had demanding projects and deadlines. This forced me to devote weeks exclusively to work, with long hours in front of a computer and without much contact with other people, even during the weekends. The animals that are part of the family alleviate this feeling, providing their company and strengthening the sense of responsibility with the care they require.

  • During those weeks of intense work, the anxiety and tension that this condition can generate is reduced with the company of pets. Although I had adopted this effect from my own experience, I later read that several scientific studies have shown that animal-assisted therapies (which aim to help the recovery of people with health problems or mental disorders) helps to reduce blood pressure and improve the cardiovascular system in general. Consequently, this type of therapy helps to improve many physical and mental aspects: relieves pain, reduces stress and, therefore, improves the psychological and emotional state of those who are assisted.

Art_06_Foto_05.jpg

Image source
Scientific studies have shown that animal-assisted therapies helps the recovery of people with health problems.

Art_06_Foto_06.jpg

Image source
Animal-assisted therapy has shown that many psychological and emotional aspects improve for those who receive it.


A NEW PERSPECTIVE

I know many people who also face situations that I once went through: lack of sensitivity to the needs of others, feeling of loneliness and isolation, anxiety and tension... I believe that certain lifestyles that are promoted in some environments can take us away from our ability to perceive and understand the needs of others, to cultivate true and lasting friendships… and therefore, feel alone and isolated.

From my own experience, I can say that developing a close relationship between animals and people can be a valuable method to face certain difficult situations in life.

Art_07_Foto_07.JPG

Lázaro loves pictures! And we love him too.

The commitment to ensure the welfare for others, and the ability to perceive and understand what they feel are undoubtedly part of the languages of happiness. Those who taught me this language were my canine friends.


letstemauplogonegro.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @letsteamup! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60696.91
ETH 2593.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56