You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 6 things I like and don't like about programming

in #story8 years ago (edited)

I just had an absolute drama this year and got into fights with other programmers about Saving and Loading in Unity so I completely agree on the issue of documentation.

It was alarming, because saving and loading is one of the most common and demanded features in singleplayer games in particular and I noticed a lot of indie developers didn't even seem to bother with it, understandable for small games but with bigger games that have lots of progression mechanics you're fucked!

Thankfully though there were still people patient enough to take the time to explain it to me and now I've got proper saving and loading going on in my game which will mean gamers who play my games won't be hugely frustrated at not being able to save at difficult points if they die and I made sure to keep everything all in one thread so they can look it up.

It's not difficult once you see everything in front of you but the professionals seem to forget how much of a problem the scale of code like this is for newbie programmers. It's a piss take really, because you see literally hundreds of tutorials on all of the other mechanics of a game and on FPS' and so on, even AI, but does saving and loading get that many tutorials? Nope, glad I finally got to deal with it though.

Sort:  

Man, I totally understand you. Hopefully there always those who are willing to help us :)

Like they said to me, sometimes just searching through google and the documentation is a skill in itself, I found this nice little piece about patrol points for navmesh agents buried away in the Unity documentation fairly recently, had no idea it was there at all, it's obvious once you saw it on the menus but this is the problem with all these hidden menus and so on.

I'd say Maya is far worse though for that kind of thing.

https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/nav-AgentPatrol.html

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59203.63
ETH 2522.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51