You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Survival in the World of Inner-City Teaching Part 6

in #story8 years ago

loved your article and your plan of action to phone parents immediatley. I worked in a school for 10 yrs in the UK, and saw vast changes on the way dicipline was managed by teachers and parents. My overall conclusion that you need to win the parents over to achieve positive change in disruptive students. One other thing I also learnt is to befriend every member of staff,INCLUDING NON TEACHING - these people run the school from behind the scenes and if you need anything doing ( letters, photocopying, etc etc) being nice to them at the begining will pay off later on in the year... I know I experienced it!

Sort:  

I agree on all points. The best friend any teacher can have are the custodians and the secretaries. They cover your butt. :) My partnership with parents paid off in spades over the years, I rarely had discipline issues after my first year in the classroom. Thank you for your feedback.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.69
ETH 2375.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31