The Police and I - Personal Statement

in #story7 years ago

It was around 2am on a friday when I was driving on market street by the civic center. I was waiting at the intersection on market street for a red light to turn green. Once it turned green, I made a left and continued onto my destination. Shortly after I was stopped by a police officer. When I asked him the reason for pulling me over, he said I ran a red light and that my lights weren’t on. I denied the accusation and knowing that there is a camera at the intersection of market street that shows everything, I stated to the officer exactly, “Can you give me my ticket so I can be on my way. I’m not going to go back and forth with you.”

Once I said that, he asked me to get out my car when two additional cop cars came onto the scene. So now there are a total of 3 cop cars for what was initially supposed to be a traffic stop. Immediately after getting out the car, they started searching my car. At this point I was lost on exactly what their end goal was. I already felt like I got stopped without a cause, and now my car was being searched. I felt like they were doing everything to prove me guilty of something considering I got stopped wrongfully. I was asked to do a series of test for them. The first test he made me do was a Horizontal gaze where he held a flashlight to my eyes and asked me to follow a pen. The second test he asked me to do was to walk and turn on an imaginary line.

Than lastly, he asked me to stand on one leg. After the test I expressed to the officer If I was free to leave considering I did not want to waste anymore time. It was extremely windy and cold, and not having a jacket on made things worse; I wanted to leave. He than asked me to do another test for him, which I told them at this point, I felt like i'm being violated and if they want to arrest me, they can. After saying this, I got brought to the Dutchess county office where one of the officer explained to me that because i refused to do their test(breathalyzer), my license will be revoked. Not knowing this before, I asked the officer if i could do the test(breathalyzer) because I didn't want my license revoked. The officer informed me that because he had already done the paperwork the answer was “no.” After the paperwork, he told me the only way I could leave was if I posted bail, if not I was going to have to spend the night to see a judge. I told him I couldn’t post bail or call anyone because my phone, and money were in my car, which they had towed. After a while, he informed me I was free to go around 4am. Since my house keys were in my car along with my phone, I didn’t have anywhere to go or anyone to contact.

I made it known to the officer my current situation and informed him I didn't feel safe roaming around Poughkeepsie aimlessly with no destination. I asked if I could stay until morning time. He denied and said exactly “This is not a hotel.” After going back and forth with him about not wanting to leave, he got hostile and shoved me toward the door. I gave up and asked him if he could drive me to a place I felt comfortable at. He said no, than finally I asked if he could call a cab for me which he agreed to.

Sort:  

Wow. People sometimes focus on their work that they loose the basic human conscious. How could they ask you to leave around 4am knowing that you have no phone and no car? smh. Glad you got out safe though. It could have been worse

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64400.67
ETH 3506.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53