Autumn adventure w/ @vermillionfox and my son, Mills!

in #story8 years ago

Quick disclaimer. Prior to becoming a dad, the absolute last thing I wanted to see was my friends kids doing cute kid stuff. It just didn’t interest me and I often tried to hide it from my feed. That said, I’m wholeheartedly all in on being a dad, and with the 180º turn around, this post is some of that typical dad shit.

My son is five and this has been a big year for both of us. I’m a freelance artist, and the last few years it’s been the two of us. He come with me day in and day out as I worked at coffee shops around the Twin Cities. He’s sat with me for long stretches, sometimes 10 hours at Caffetto, our usual stomping grounds. Our bond is unshakable, and we are, without a doubt, one another’s best friend.

Kindergarten was an adjustment for both of us. My job didn’t earn me enough for a fancy preschool, and to be honest, we didn’t need it. Our time together grew our bond, and he learned a lot, academically and socially. He was apprehensive about starting school, but after years as a single dad, I was looking forward to a few hours each day to focus on my work in my own space, and environment.

He went off to school this first of August, and has since made friends, loves his teacher, and has made a seamless fit with his classmates. My life has also become more manageable, giving me the flexibility to illustrate or book shoots. 

Since school started a few months ago, he’s reached a lot of milestones I never imaged I’d experience as a dad […wasn’t in my 10 year plan, originally]. He’s had his school photos, made his first school friend, and today was his first field trip!

The entire class took a bus about 30 minutes outside of Minneapolis to a small family farm in Andover. @vermillionfox and I came along to help chaperone, and share the afternoon with Mills. It was cold and damp, which made me laugh how conditioned kids in Minnesota are to the weather. We we taken on a tour of the animals, stopping to see and pet goats, donkeys, pigs, cows, llamas and even a pony!

Afterwards, the class had lunch and went on a hayride around the farm, getting to see cows and the rest of the farm. At the end, the kids swarmed a small pumpkin patch and were allowed to pick one each to take home. For me, it was just great seeing him interact with his friends and classmates, wide eyed to things most adults take for granted.


Autumn is easily my favorite season of the year, which is ironic I know so many people that suffer from seasonal affective disorder. This was a perfect fall activity for us, and I took photos throughout the afternoon to have, and to share here on Steemit. I hope you enjoy.

I post daily! You can follow my blog @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

That kid is growing too fast! I need to make it back for a visit. What a charming young guy!

So nice to see kids having fun, getting outdoors away from the phones, and video gaming, and tablets! So wonderful to see! And they are having such a blast! Thanks so much for shareing with us! STEEM ON! 👬♨👌👍♨👬

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58241.28
ETH 2648.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45