All the things daddy told me

in #story6 years ago

Looking at the wall paper on my phone, i have on it the image of my dad and i, striking a father daughter pose and each time i stare at it, i remember every fight, every conversation, every word exchanged in anger, sadness, joy, and over boys. lol. I remember his stories of always taking the first positions in class (nigerian parents always took first oh), how he never went after girls (well that explains my four step brothers, he married only my mother!!!) how he trekked 10km to fetch water from the stream with a big bowl on his head ( yes, he suffered, and i'm enjoying) how he never had a cell phone (implying this generation is lazy) or how he never smoked or drank alchohol.
IMG_20171230_113636.jpg
First off, my father is such a drama queen. I mean it, he goes hysterical and one time he kept malice with me because i sent him a text saying "hey daddy boo" and he thought i was giving him a thumbs down. Fore real man! I kept knocking his door and begging until he finally called my mum and reported. lol, makes me remember that anytime I talk to myself, he panicks and calls my mum again. He likes to be treated like the Queen of England, and that Dexter, my dog understands pretty well

My dad and i talk, about a lot of things, from stories to fairy tales,to politics, to jokes , to husband and wife matters, and finally to boyfriends. Here are some of the things he taught me.

  1. Never underestimate anybody at all; whether they are from a different tribe, religion and social and financial class and background. He'd say " you'll see a man with ordinary shirt and jean, and another in a suit and tie, but i bet you me, the one in an ordinary shirt and jean, has more than you think he has, maybe even more than the one in the suit." Today, i ind that to be true.

  2. Leave the judging for God to do; he told me never to judge anyone or myself, because i do not even own myself, talk more my neighbor.

  3. Don't make great friends, make great connections; I was telling him about my friends who has done some harm to me, and he complained about teens and their emotional drama, he then asked me one question "what has she got to offer you? what has she ever offered you?" and i began to think. " you don't keep people around you for petty emotional problems, you keep them for your future, connection is important."my father would say.

  4. keep your mouth shut, but leave your eyes and ears wide open; he taught me that some secrets are meant for the grave. One person knows, the whole world knows. He taught me to be alert and have the spirit of discernment.

  5. Think before you spill; somehow, you can never unsay something that you have said, especially in anger. It's better you chew it up and swallow it, then spit it out and regret it.

  6. Love yourself first, before you love others, it's not being selfish, it's just putting your priorities and choices right, so you can get your self respect.

  7. Listen to yourself. Always follow your heart and do what you think is right.

  8. If a man says he must sleep with you before he marries you, run away from him. A man that loves you will wait for you, no matter how long.

  9. What kills a man faster than death, ignorance and pride.

  10. You have no excuse for losing at life, even orphans are ruling the world today. Work yourself to the top!!!

  11. If you have nothing good or positive to say, don't say anything at all.

  12. If you cannot help to build, don't help to destroy.

I'll say one thing my mother will ever say; Love, not because you want to be loved in return. Love, unconditionally.
More Father quotes coming soon as i remember them, lol.

Sort:  

So much learnt from daddy. You seem to be a daddy's girl...

Fathers are wonderful Mentors and one group of people who are worth emulating...

Thank God good fathers

lol, i used to be a daddy's girl

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64168.93
ETH 2768.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72