True Story ::: A Mother against all Odds

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Hello Fellow Steemians,

Today this is my first blog and I want to take you to 'A True Story' of a person who broke the odds of the stereotype culture of India.

A Story of a Mother (MAA) is what we say in Hindi when we address our Mothers. This story is also about how a daughter sees up to her mother.

Mother: Gauri Sawant
Daughter: Gayatri

Gayatri says and I quote:

girl child.jpg

Mom's going to be disappointed with me, She wants that I, become a doctor one day.

So, when holidays are over, It's straight to school.

She didn't let me stay back even for a day. Mother, she is I tell you.

Mum made a life of her own, she was 18 when her father threw her out of the house. Even the thought of being alone tears me into parts.

hiding scared.jpg

I've never seen my father, and my biological mother used to be sick all the time. I only remember one day with her, which I can not get out of my mind. Some people came and took her away in an ambulance, and she never came back home.

Then one day, mum came to the orphanage. As I walked up to her with fear and anxiety in my eyes, She held me into her arms lovingly, and took me to her home.

I remember, I was not well one day, she sat by my side whole night, gifts me a beautiful red hot frock next morning.

It has been ten years with my mum, now she is a friend more than being a mum.

gauri.jpg

Sunday is a mutual favourite day, She massage oil into my hairs in the morning, followed by my favourite lunch - kadhi chawal, and in the night horror film.
I get scared, but then when she is around, not much!!

Screen Shot 2017-06-23 at 1.55.29 PM.png

This is my mum, isn't she lovely?

My mum has seen so many problems in her life, have gone through a lot, yet she has always cared for me.

My Social Studies book says that everyone is entitled to equal basic rights!!

Then why is she denied for it?

**That is why I'm not going to be Doctor, I will be a Lawyer instead, for my mum.

gauri-sawant-for-Herstory.jpg

Gauri Sawant a Transgender or a Eunuch decided to break the stereotype in India, Society told her she is not a woman, but she became a mother. They told her she does not exist in the eyes of the law, yet she took in an orphaned to protect right to a happy childhood.

No, its not crisp silk sarees, it is not white beauty or her own milk makes her a mother but the decision of giving a girl of what she deserves and what Gauri herself have been severely deprived of, Love.

Gauri born in Pune, Maharashtra as Ganesh Sawant, she was a police officer's son being raised in an even more masochistic environment than normal, in Government flats.
Her parents did not want Gauri at all, even though they wanted to go for a second child. Gauri was then disowned and was thrown away on the society of Eunuchs, where she was raised and got aware of the cruel realities of life. Knowing the unharmonious behaviour towards a Transgender, she decided to fight and now a successful Transgender activist.

Thank You, for reading the story.

Krish


Like this article? Upvote and Resteem let the word spread


follow for more @kgblogs

Sort:  

This is so nice story my friend!!

Keep it up!!
Nicely framed, I actually got goosebumps!!

Thank you bro,

will try to keep it up!!

Really nice and heartful story

What a beautiful and heartfelt story. Thank you for sharing it!

Glad that you took out time and read it!!
Thank you so much!!

pleasure :)

thank you for sharing bhai :)

You are welcome
Thank you!! @vinnu brother!!

Thank you for the amazing story! And welcome to Steemit!

You are welcome, Glad that you liked it!!

sad about your childhood - i will follow you and upvote

Thank you for the UPVOTE and Follow,

How Ever the story is about the girl's childhood.
I have just covered this story and written it.

Thanks!!

Great message and I think that you are completely correct. Life is full of suffering and there will always be hardships. Your mom is lucky she has you to fight for her and bring awareness. Also, welcome to Steem. :) Looks like you're off to a great start! I'll follow you to keep up on your story and also upvote. Good luck!

Thank you so much!!

Followed You back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63122.36
ETH 3072.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86