You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How I made $60k then promptly lost it all and ended up owing taxes I couldn't pay... (Part II)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Never got that lucky with any investments lol. But yeah, I'll call that a series of black swan events with a little of Murphy's Law. Unexpected stuff only happens when it happens.

Most I've lost was ~2500 usd. I thought I've had created the holy grail of forex bots, back then. It ran perfect all through the most high-resolution datasets I could find, spanning about 20 years. Lesson learned about bots and investments in general, it's smart until a "dumb" thing happens in the market.

So the question now is, can we create our own little black swans?

Sort:  

Haha so what was the "dumb" thing that happened in the market to cause your bot not to perform as expected? I saw a lot of that kind stuff happen around the craziness with the debt ceiling back in August of 2010 or was it 2011? I can't remember now...

I can't even remember all that much now. Tried plenty of models and variations - then just proceeded with a trial run when it seemed to work over a decade of data. Went kaput in 4-5 days lol.

We had a technicals based trading strategy that we used at my trading partnership that showed profits of roughly 1% per day when we tested on a simulator. We ran it over data of the previous 2-3 years. (not a big time period, but we literally had tested it on thousands and thousands of setups). We went live with it a few months before that Debt Ceiling crisis in 2010 or 2011 I mentioned earlier. It worked OK for the first couple months, not quite 1% gains per day, but still it was definitely profitable. When that debt ceiling crisis happened we ended up taking massive losses very quickly and many of our investors pulled their money. Oh, the black swan...

And yes I am hopeful that we can create our own little black swan event with steemit and steem, but in a good way. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.93
ETH 2465.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63