Memmories... Can we ever truly go back 🎼🎶Home Home On The Range! 🎶🎼🐄🐷🐎

in #story8 years ago (edited)

ALL ORIGINAL PHOTOS AND CONTENT! ITS LIKE I RECIEVED A TIME CAPSULE IN MY MAIL !! I recieved some pictures recently from my cousin Brenda whom I have not seen in 30 years! She advised me that shes currently gathering information to have a famliy tree book made and wanted to share with me some awesome photos from the family farm , which is back east in Quebec almost 5,000 kilometres away from me.
I actually grew up on this farm when i was little, and remember it well! Brenda and i were close in age and played together all the time! She was raised on a farm across from my grandma and grandpas farm through the woods by my aunt Joyce and uncle Harvey ! But that was long ago . Brenda now owns my granparents farm where i was raised and lived in that very big house with my mom and dad, brother, and uncle Lew!
Heres an old photo of the family!

Thats my mom on the right, crouched down is my dad beside her and uncle Lew beside him, in the back from right to left is my uncle Harvey and aunt Joyce Brendas parents! And beside them is my grandpa and grandma! Everyone in that photo is now passed on... except for my aunt Joyce! May they rest in peace...
And heres a photo of the farm that was taken long ago when i was living there! All of these photos my aunt found when she moved into the house with her husband after my grandma and grandpa passed on!

Now this was a 1,200 acre sugar farm! My grandpa produced some of the best maple syrup you could ever buy! They also had 200 dairy cows! With lots of haying and corn planted , and of course appple trees! Seeing the old pictures sure brought back many care free memories! I did go back once like i said 30 years ago, just before my first son was born, hes now 29! It just never seemed like it was that long ago! Where does the time go!

This is a current photo of the old farm, how it looks now from the front! Brenda and her husband just finished doing some major renovations, with new sideing and a new deck which will be my next photo ! From the deck looking onto the acreage and property.

And one more that looks behind the house , towards the barns. You can get an idea from the oldest overview picture i provided! It really was a large house! My granparents raised 4 farm boys in that house!

Just seeing these photos again after so many years , a lifetime ago really ! I asked myself what it would be like to back there! ? When my mom and dad split up , she moved us out west to British Columbia Canada when I was about 8 years old and we never went back till 30 years later. My dad also left to build Expo in 1969 and because he had a falling out with my grandpa he also never went back, not even when they passed away for the funeral. So now that everyone is gone there really isnt much to go back to. Heres a beautiful sunset photo taken from the upstairs porch!

So For me its the memories of when things were all wonderful and life was good!Everyone was still alive and happy! The carefree life of a child , with no worries ! Not a care in the world! And for that I will always be grateful! I suppose I dont really need to physically go back! As long as I keep those wonderful memories alive , the farm will be forever in my heart and soul ! As we just celebrated Thanksgiving here in Canada on Monday, I will share one more Brenda sent me of their family turkey dinner on the farm ! With her mom joyce , my aunt, sitting at the head of the table! I believe she is 90 years old! Awesome! 💞💕💓💕

Happy Holidays everyone! And may you always have great memories at least of your childhood, if nothing else! Like me! Please Reply and upvote ! All comments are welcome! I would love to hear if you have some nice memories you would to share or photos! And feel free to follow me if you like! THANKS! ♨👍♨STEEM ON!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67724.53
ETH 2606.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72