A strange story from the beach. (Strange Stories, I)

in #story7 years ago (edited)

IMG_3366.JPG

So tonight a drunk old guy came up to us on the beach in a "wife-beater" and told us we couldn't do sparklers until after 9 because the planes flying in to the airport directly next to the beach could be endangered, and potentially crash.

The slurred voice was the first giveaway (along with the wife beater shirt) that this guy was full of shit, but we ignored him and said "Yeah, yeah" and found our spot and commenced our fireworks. Either way, we actually thought he had said you can do them until 9.

He came back and started slurring at my family again and I kind of lost my shit in a somewhat responsible way, asking him to identify himself, blocking him physically from encroaching on our space more, and telling and encouraging him (verbally and slightly physically) to buzz off. I felt bad for the drunk old man, but was annoyed.

He eventually left, my wife calling the city officials (coppers) and asking if there were such a law. I realized 100% as she was speaking that this poor old dude just likely had nothing better to do with his Sunday nights than get wasted and tell people not to wreck the planes with their sparklers. I felt equal parts fascinated, guilty, and depressed.

~*~

~KafkA

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

strange story

powerfull upvoting power u have :D hehehe

It can so frustrating when trying to have a nice time with your family, and someone pop out from "God knows where" to disrupt you.

Lol! Yes! Exactly!!!

i think a great step take on it ur wife sir but really some people after drunk go out of control they drunk more from their capacity and after the go in crazy mood @kafkanacrhy84 sir...but its so strange which happend on beach last night

Really Strange Story @kafkanarchy84, the old man might not like fireworks at all.

The drunken state of mind is always a mystery! Glad nothing bad happened!

You have to admit that today, you are laughing at this .. drunk old people ROCK!!!! LOL, put a smile on your face :) CCCHEEEEEZZZZZZEEEEEE .. IT'S FRICKEN MONDAY :) Love you friend .. SUNSHINE247

Actually, yes. I've been laughing a lot about this since we got home.

I would be too!!!! It pisses you off at the time but then once some time passes, its a funny memory :) Glad you had a fun filled Sunday night ... Cheers to a SUCCESSFUL week .. SUNSHINE247

Okay, what is a wife beater?

Ooh it's a piece of clothing! I thought it was some kind of vehicle or something haha

I like the involved Apple brand 😆

Poor old guy though. Probably had nothing better to do ith his life than getting wasted and "bust" people with things he thought was his duty 🤣

its good that its ended like this, sometimes drunk people cant control themself and goes to fight and who knows if he have knife.

Yes, that is a conflicting story. I mean, I guess it's good that he had some concern for someone else (air travelers). I think that you did the right thing though. Step one, protect those that you love. You can always make amends later if you see there is no actual threat. Alcohol tends to make one forget those invisible boundaries.

Upvoted. I'll be resteeming this now :]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60308.44
ETH 2640.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54