You Could Write a Book

in #story6 years ago

Yesterday I was talking to a friend of mine. We were discussing how we planned our lives when we were younger and how differently we got to where we are today.

ADB4C020-DE9B-4643-8100-0484FC932440.jpeg

Before he could speak about himself I asked him about his father. His father immigrated to Canada on his own when we was younger, with help of his uncle. His story is very fascinating. I won’t go into the details today.

My friend was born and raised in Canada so his upbringing was very different than his fathers. He grew up in nicer conditions so he had a chance to make a good living for himself and his father. That was his dream.

He wanted to do all the things his father didn’t have a chance to. Finish school, go to university and earn the big bucks.

D7A79FC3-FCCE-4FBE-A509-A0ACBF4EF6FE.jpeg

He felt that he was the one from his siblings that would end up helping his dad who sacrificed so much just to provide better future for his family.

Now you might say that’s easier said than done and I agree, but I think it’s smart to have higher expectations of yourself than none at all.

C0A87363-B002-47CA-9DB9-34D97C2A0B42.jpeg

The years went by and my friend faced some more challenges in school that delayed his success.

Working during study can affect the grades. Lack of energy can result in lack of motivation and sooner than later one can quit the game. And going back again to fix it is really hard. I have been there myself.

4453CB12-F063-4F66-BB27-6D4015325722.jpeg

Although my friend is back on track and he found a study that he seems to enjoy he is in a very different situation than he expected. Goal is probably similar but the path is much steeper and longer than he anticipated.

I believe he will come through and make a good living. He will make his father proud and will be able to help him out.

Of course it is easier to write about others than describing your own life but I felt that I can draw many parallels between his and my story.

I immigrated to Canada when I was twenty three so I didn’t have same background but my life now is nothing like imagined nor planned when I was younger. I had obstacles and lots of changes and big decisions to make. Now they seem small but at the time it wasn’t easy.

8BA8EA07-6F4D-454A-8FD5-B2D67D1D6A48.jpeg

I could go on and on about many people that I know the stories of. My parents, but especially grandparents who shared with me a lot during my many visits.

I enjoy listening about other people’s lives. Take some time with your family members or friends and share your story. You will be surprised what people have been through to get where they are now.

And as my friend said yesterday : ”Give me your story and I can write a book about it.”

Have a nice Sunday :)

P.S. All photos are my work, taken in Croatia.

Sort:  

A wonderful story that turned my memory to my past and actually if I had kept a diary, I would be surprised by the ups and downs that happen, which is suddenly easy to say, but when reliving that experience, I feel that I was very brave to get to form a home with three daughters, and work very young to get everything I've enjoyed, going back to the story of your friend I love reading his story, and it's true when they are children they get an idea of what you want, but then as time goes by, life takes us in very different directions, the important thing is to persevere to fulfill our dreams and it is very true that every life is a story, sometimes unimaginable and they even become anonymous heroes worthy to write their story, your photos are beautiful and match your art in writing I congratulate you, @ k4rl

Nice pictures!

What an amazing story. Hope some day mu quick stories, will turn into that ✌️

Que vista del paisaje tan maravilloso @k4r1nn. Croacia es un pais pequeño y relativamente nuevo forjado por la guerra, lo que lo hace mucho más lindo y hermoso

Awesome shots buddy.
Loved the background scenario.
The view is incredible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85