You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Geek in Prison - A Life Series by Charlie Shrem (Part 3 - I'm Actually in Prison)

in #story8 years ago

@charlieshem I really am amazed with your story, shocked is a better description. I am assuming there are a very few on steemit that can empathise with what you have been through. I completely know and understand your lack of freedom, but am blown away at this term of "Prison". So "THIS" is a federal prison ! WoW !! I am so glad you were there instead of a "state" prison. Charlie, I really mean that, I'm glad you were there. I have heard about "Fed" prisons, and now, because I do believe every word you are saying I have to agree ... they REALLY are like a resort. (Compared to a "State" facility)
I am so happy for you that you did not see or live the life that most ? of us see and live when going to prison.

If i didn't know who you were and remember hearing about your case and then waiting to hear the verdict (still shocked), I would believe that this is a completely made up story by a completely uninformed, delusional "Utopianist", Because this is DAMN sure NOT what we think of when we hear or talk about prison in the USA ! Charlie, Please do not believe for ONE minute that I am inferring that what you went through was not a horrible and traumatic experience, I am just shocked at (That? ) prison. Again, I am very happy for you that you went there instead of a state prison. You DIDN'T DESERVE to even GO THERE !!!
Now that I have a glimpse of a "Fed" prison, I am PISSED to know that so many in Fed prison are living like this ! and SHOULD BE (IMHO) in an Animalistic, Torturous NORMAL prison !! "Bernie" Madoff for one !

"Rita Hayworth and Shawshank Redemption, (Shawshank)" by SK, "Brubaker" (Movie) About conditions inside Tucker Prison Farm (In Arkansas) ("Wakefield" in the movie) Isn't it IRONIC that MY P.O.'s name is Wakefield, (in Arkansas) and "The Jacket" Jack London, are from MY experience a more true depiction to what a regular (State) prison is like.

I saw from your reading list that you have read a number of Grisham's books, that DO give some accurate descriptions of life in prison, so I'm sure you have an idea of how lucky you are !
Again, I AM saying I am just glad you went to where you did go ! I am sure you ARE thankful ! I would really like to hear your feelings on this, perhaps in a "Summation" post at the conclusion to this series of post !

Please do not be offended Charlie, to belittle your experience is certainly NOT my intention !!! I am just blown away at the conditions and life in a "Fed Pen".
Thanks for sharing this, so many haven't a clue to what you have went through and some of us had no idea what a "Fed" pen was like, thanks again !

Sort:  

Thank you for replying and talking about state prisons. I hope steemit.com can as a community put prisons to bed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62